Skip to content

Cucumber And Earl Grey

April 2, 2011

My coworker at work has turn me on to Jo Malone’s very latest Earl Grey and Cucumber perfume. She smelt wonderful and I asked her what she was wearing. I need to also smell this good. It was to my dismay that apparently Jo Malone has came out with a selection of perfumes inspired by tea. I say dismay because Ms. Malone does not make perfumes for the likes of broke young urban professionals like myself. Nay! Her perfumes are for older urban executive women and ladies who lunch. While, I aspire to be the CEO of corporate America someday, I have to woefully admit I am not there yet. My perfumes are generous gifts of younger sisters who are better with their money than I.

I have always been more of a tea girl than a coffee girl. Blame it on my upbringing (I am Asian. The point was already moot and decided before I was born!). Besides, tea brings to mind images of porcelain cups and quiet mornings. Chic pearls and classic bob cuts. Coffee on the other hand makes me think of busy city streets, high heels and long glamourous hair. While I swing from one end of the spectrum to the other (remember that women are complicated creatures. We cannot be pigeon holed), I must admit to lingering at the end of classic (or as my sister says “boring”) rather than glam.

I love my current scent, Marc Jacob’s Daisy. So the bottle is kind of juvenile. Gold and plastic daisies not being my thing but the scent itself is light, fresh and delightful. I need to find a new one though because while the scent is pretty, for whatever reason, I am the only one who can tell that I have anything on. (And Cory but usually only when he is so close to me, the perfume I am wearing is not what he is thinking about!). My bottle is also on its last leg and I do have a birthday coming up, so maybe I won’t have to purchase that very expensive bottle for myself. I can get some unsuspecting sod to do it for me (like my husband!).

What fragrances do you love? What are you wearing currently?

 

 

Picture credits: The Scent Critic

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2011 11:55 am

    I am a tea girl, too, although not in the form of perfumes. If you go to Nordstrom’s perfume department, they will (or at least used to) give out samples of anything you request in little sample bottles. I lived off of the sample bottles for many, many years.

  2. April 4, 2011 6:49 am

    Well I’m not an older urban executive women or a lady who lunches (unless you count eating a Tupperware of salad at my desk as i am currently doing) and I wear Jo Malone. I don’t like any other perfumes for which I can only smell alcohol and generic ‘perfuminess’ and I like the lightness of her fragrances. Before I found JM, i had never worn perfume regularly as the smell gave me a headache.

    In terms of cost – well, I have one bottle of Nectarine Blossom and Honey and when it runs out, I replace it. It is quite small and cost about £25 but it’s the only perfume I wear. This one was a gift but I have previously bought my own. I think I maybe get through a bottle – a bottle and a half per year. So I don’t think it’s too pricy. Lovely stuff.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

