Skip to content

His Wedding Band

July 29, 2009

So, I might not have a place for either my reception or ceremony but I have bought the Boy’s wedding band. It was an impulse buy. I started off the wedding planning with idealistic notions about not just how I wanted it to look, how I wanted people to feel, but also that I was going give my business to only small business owner vendors. The Boy and I try to incorporate this in our lives too as much as possible. No, we have not given up shopping at PetSmart, or Wal-Mart, and I certainly find myself at Barnes and Noble as often as I find myself at home.

I came across TeNo shopping in Soho one day and just fell in love with their jewelry. Not for me, but I knew it was something the Boy would appreciate (they looked real manly, and he likes to strut his stuff and think he is all that from time to time. I try keep my eye-rolling to a minimum as any good fiancee ought to do). They were stainless steel and some had insets of different materials: gold, silver, diamonds, you name it.

I took him there the next day. With Mum. Word of caution, if you have an asian mother, don’t bring her jewelry shopping. Especially if the jewelry is not meant for her. Our sales rep was a delightful flamboyant guy as he jabbered on about the rings. Now, when I went in previously, I had this in mind:

I know he mentioned he wanted something with a curved top and I thought the silver inset looked unusual yet classic. He looked at it and sniff. The salesman starts pulling out rings with diamond insets as I try to not to panic. While mum is walking around the store wrinkling her nose going “stainless steel? No secondhand value. Now my wedding band is made out of 24 karat gold. My children would be able to melt this down and get money for it when I am dead and gone”. Thankfully the salesman just looked amused. “My mother is greek,” he said in an aside to me, “they are not much different” and winked. I gave him a withered smile. In the end the Boy settled on

The salesman shows me the price and I couldn’t help myself, I choked. Okay, so it was only $350 but for someone who was really only expecting to pay $200, that was $150 more than I expected. The saleman smiles and gestures at my engagement band “now should you really be fussing over a couple hundred when he got you that beautiful ring?” I had the sense to blush. So I bought it.

Now, I am having buyer’s remorse. Why did I spend money on that when there are so many beautiful options out there?

Like this beautiful piece by ZoeAndDoyle on Etsy

made of titanum and carbon fiber for $169. Amazing.

Or maybe this sandblasted titanium ring from robandlean also from etsy

Rob and Leighanne and are married couple who make their jewelry together with their hands and live in Tennessee with their small brood of children whom they obviously adore. I have actually been secretly stalking following Rob and Lean via their blog (which I can’t seem to find anymore) since before marriage was on the table. It would have been an honor to have bought a ring from them.

Oh well, what is done is done. No regrets. At least I bought it in New York City. My favorite place in the world.

One Comment leave one →
  1. artsybride permalink
    August 8, 2009 10:57 pm

    Hey girlie! I just saw you on Weddingbee, I’m the hostess of the DIY and Dallas boards, I had to support a fellow Dallas girl and stop by to say hello!

    Did you have his ring sized or anything when you bought it? You might call the place and find out what their return policy is.

    As a budget bride, you really can’t afford to let the sales people sweet talk you… it can be such a budget breaker. He doesn’t know if your FI bought you your engagement ring or if it was given to him by a relative, it’s a vintage style, so who is he to say it isn’t truly vintage?

    If you need some ideas on ceremony or reception places, feel free to drop me a line, I used to work as a wedding consultant, and I’ve done piles of research for my own wedding, so I’d be happy to pass on some ideas to you on venues!

    Anywho, your blog has a lot of potential and I am excited to see your planning progress! You’ve got a great writing style that keeps the reader engaged (no pun intended)!

Leave a Reply

