Skip to content

Neiman Marcus’s Bridal Sample Sale

August 6, 2009
by

Yes, you read that right, Neiman Marcus is having their first ever sample sale from now until Saturday. I went there just today to check them out and ladies, the sale, is outrageous! Run over there and check them out! There is about 100 gowns total that run from 50% to 80% off. Designers that run the gamut from Lela Rose, to the ever classic Vera Wang, the detailed gorgeous Monique Lhullier, Carolina Herrera. The bridal salon directress is the most delightful woman ever. Accommodating, generous with her time.

Pretty dresses all in a row in the dressing room

Pretty dresses all in a row in the dressing room

 

Pretty Anne Barge dress with a bow.

Pretty Anne Barge dress with a bow.

 

Gorgeous detail by Monique Lhullier, of course

Gorgeous detail by Monique Lhullier, of course

 

Yup, that is a Monique Lhuiller dress for $800!

Yup, that is a Monique Lhuiller dress for $800!

I tried on a bunch of different dresses (advice: do not wear black underwear when you are trying on wedding gowns) and finally narrowed it down to 5. Yes ladies, count em, FIVE.  My mother was in town with a friend and they came over to see the dresses. At first it was, “it is a special day in your life, you should have the dress you feel most beautiful in”.

Today, I am a Debbie Downer. I have a budget for a dress but my favorite (and I am not tell you which) was originally $6600 and is now $1400. 80% off. And $400 over my planned budget. My typical Asian mother (advice: if God ever asks you what family you would like to be born to. If it is an asian mother, just say “no”) then changes her tune and embarrasses me by going into a rant to the salon directress and her assistant about how $1400 is just too much for a dress. When she got married she borrowed her dress from her friend for $20. A David’s Bridal dress is just as good for a dress that is going to be worn for one night (um…no). 

I love my mother, bless her heart. But she drives me bonkers. I like to think I am bring pretty thrifty with this wedding. There are a lot of things I would love to see done but I have opted for a cheaper alternative. I am torn, in the back of my mind, I do think it is a little silly to spend so much on a dress that one only wears once. But maybe I am missing the emotional part of the whole which is what I got caught up in at Neiman’s among all the beautiful couture dresses. Should a girl spend upwards of $1000 for her wedding dress? Does one believe in the idea of The Dress?

I did start crying but it was not from tears of joy from finding the perfect dress (my emotions don’t swing that far that way) more like tears of anger at my mother’s attitude toward the whole wedding. And the embaressment at having a mother get up on a soap box at Neiman Marcus. I was furious for hours after. Not because I could not get the dress I wanted (ok, maybe a little bit of a temper tantrum) but because my pride was hurt and I am confused. *sigh* Anyone else had wedding dress guilt?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara permalink
    August 12, 2009 9:43 am

    I have wedding dress guilt. I’m actually going to be wearing a dress a got at a charity clothes swap, not a ‘wedding dress’ as such but beautiful nonetheless. But sometime’s I’d like to be wearing a different dress, a much more ‘special dress’. a friend of mine had her dress designed and made for her from refashioned parachute silk, it’s a beautiful dress and unique and I would so love to have thought of this first AND wanted to spend the money on one. Luckily, I cannot bare the thought of spending money on a dress I will wear once, if I hadn’t found my beautiful dress I would have had mine made, but for less than £200 (not sure what that is in dollars) I just couldn’t justify the money (although sometimes I wish I could be that frivolous!) p.s. i had £1000 to spend I just couldn’t

    • missyap permalink*
      August 12, 2009 4:24 pm

      Glad I am not the only one! Though I am such a clothes horse, I just want to wear a beautiful dress. *sigh* Wonder why women just can’t walk around with their wedding dresses on after the wedding.

Leave a Reply

