Skip to content

Wedding Colors

August 14, 2009

To tell the truth, since the Boy decided he had to have navy as one of our wedding colors, I have been, um, put out. How does one do navy without it looking 80s? Or nautical? Or preppy? Or Fourth of July-y?

Then I came across these marvelous things bride all over the world wide web have been using that I have been blissfully unaware of called: inspiration boards. I have an inspiration folder but there is nothing like everything on a board to see how it all works together. Unfortunately, I don’t have Adobe Photoshop. And my skills with Paint is limited to cropping and resizing photos, so I have been to scouring the Internet for inspirational inspiration boards. I love the Internet.

Snippet and Ink have marvelous inspiration boards. Simply breathtaking.

Navy and Peach

Navy and Peach

Ink and Peony

Ink and Peony

I would never thought of these pairing together. I love the strong navy against the softness of peach or the palest of pinks. Divine! I originally thought blues and greens and greys but that is too expected. These colors are more up my alley.

Burgundy and Blue

Burgundy and Blue

I love the drama of this palette but… I am afraid too much in the wrong direction and all of a sudden, it is a Fourth of July parade!

Then there are the inspiration palettes on The Inspired Bride which is just achingly beautiful. Now I am just going to let myself get carried away here on “if only”s

If only I had a fall wedding (and did not have a groom who was a stickler for his navy) I would love this palette. Such an unsually beautiful combination.

or a beautiful spring time wedding

Le sigh. But the first two is definately something I am leaning towards. Feminine and strong all at the same time. The Boy and I personified (just to clarify, I am the feminine one!) What were your wedding colors? Or what will they be?

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 14, 2009 11:06 am

    I like your blog very much!

Leave a Reply

