Skip to content

A Breakfast at Tiffany’s Wedding

August 17, 2009

“Breakfast at Tiffany’s” is one of my favorite movies (which is saying a lot because I usually cannot sit still to watch a movie in its entirety). Something with me resonated strongly with Holly Golightly wanting to run from love. Before the Boy that was certainly what I was doing, part with intention and part unknowingly, I never wanted to hurt the way I had seen some of my friends hurt. It took the Boy a long time to persuade me to stay, and then persuade me to love, and then to want to wed. Not to mention Audrey. Audrey, Audrey, Audrey, how I adore thee.

I know Martha has already done a “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” wedding. But that is not what I am talking about. I love the feel of the movie. The elegant glamour. That is what I want to capture in my wedding. The clothes! Oh the clothes. Here are some movie stills to inspire from carriespitzer.com:

That coat!

That coat!

This has always been my favorite movie promo shot

This has always been my favorite movie promo shot

I happen to look really good in cloche hats and sheath dresses

I happen to look really good in cloche hats and sheath dresses

We need to bring back opera length gloves

We need to bring back opera length gloves

The Boy says I have lots of black already. So got this look covered. Not the hat though. Cant pull off the hat

The Boy says I have lots of black already. So got this look covered. Not the hat though. Can't pull off the hat

I don’t want to own anything until I find a place where me and things go together. I’m not sure where that is but I know what it is like. — Holly Golightly

Well, that’s funny because I found my place. Where me and things just go together. Only its not a place, its a person.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2009 2:50 am

    What a charming post! 🙂 Just dropping by at a fellow Dallas wedding blogger 🙂

  2. August 18, 2009 6:43 pm

    Aaah, that is so sweet. Holly Golightly is the ultimate style icon. You clearly also have great style to admire her. m.v.b.

  3. August 19, 2009 10:37 am

    for sure one of my favorite movies too! its close tie with barefoot in the park. i love that movie too!

Leave a Reply

