Skip to content

Wedding Processional: No Banjos

September 8, 2009

Liz On Top of the World by Dario Marianelli

*hits play, music comes on*

The Boy, “gay!” (Just to clarify, he is refering to the lameness of the song not the song’s sexual orientation. And no, he is not the most politically correct in the world. We are working on that).

“Well that is too bad you think it is “gay” because this is the song I am walking down the aisle to”

“Why?” said in the sort of manner like I just told him, “I am going to jump off a bridge now”

“Because it is a beautiful song. And because I don’t want the usual dum dum da-dum droll”

“Well, you know, if we played it (wedding march) on a banjo, it will be different. Would be kind of cool”, as he breaks out his air banjo and makes (what he thinks) is banjo twanging sounds.

Um. No. Boys don’t know anything.

The song is “Liz on Top of the World” off the soundtrack of “Pride and Prejudice”. Which also happens to be one of my favorite books and Elizabeth Bennet one of my favorite literary heroine. I think a lot of girls like to see a little bit of ‘Liz’ in themselves. So, I am sorry Honey, I am just going to have to veto you on this one!

No comments yet

Leave a comment