Skip to content

BAMBAKO – 100% for the Cure

October 1, 2009

When I was in college, I had a college advisor who is the kind of college advisors one dreams of having. I was having a particularly rough semester and my advisor washed me off on her. I have been typing and retyping the next few sentences trying to figure out how to let you know how much she means to me. When we met, I was drowning in depression so deep and so dark I was convinced it was never going to get better. She took more than a cursory interest in me and more importantly unlike most in my life, didn’t just think my depression was something I should just “get over”. She asked me how I was doing and genuinely wanted to know. She asked me to lunch for no reason other than to make sure I was ok. I was not just an number in a school of twenty-six thousand students.

Ms Hooks is now in stage four breast cancer. She has a five year old boy who has absolutely no clue she is sick and she is determined that she will see him graduate, get married, and have children of his own. Sometimes, I lose sight of the light at the end of the tunnel. My depression did not go away in college and from time to time I wonder if it ever will but because she tells me there is an end and things always get better. I am going to believe it. For her and for me.

I love when companies like BAMBAKO have products for the Cure. Even better when 100% of their profits go to research to iradicate breast cancer. I am hoping sometime during my lifetime children will never remember a time when there was no hope and when mothers don’t have to hide being “sick” from their children. If your bridesmaids are wearing headbands, maybe consider one of these and contribute.

Rhonda

Rhonda

Mama Rose (I think this might be my favorite)

Mama Rose (I think this might be my favorite)

Linda

Linda

All of the headbands are limited editions named after a phenomenal woman who survived breast cancer. What an amazing way to celebrate the strength and hope of women! Besides, do you really need another excuse to buy something pretty? I didn’t think so.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynn Cheeeeeek permalink
    October 2, 2009 12:06 am

    Hey Jess,

    I’ve actually been reading your bridal rants and updates pretty frequently. Anyway, how do i purchase one of those headbands if i wish to? They’re really pretty.

    Love,
    Lynn

    • October 2, 2009 7:32 am

      Hi Lynn,

      You can purchase these headbands at BAMBAKO.com. 🙂

      Great post, Jess. ❤

Leave a Reply

