Skip to content

Fourth Meal

October 19, 2009
tags:
by

I have been brooding and researching over what makes for a good favor. Obviously nothing kitchy or something that people won’t use again. But there in lies the problem. What I think would make for an excellent gift, others might not think so. For example, I might think a bookmark might be an excellent favor but my sister would throw up her nose at it (then again, she throws up her nose at most). People have told me “nothing monogrammed” because really, who would want your monogram in their house. Good point. Nothing tacky. So koozies are out (not that I drink anyway but you have to admit, they are useful). I briefly contemplated the idea of a donation to a cause Honey and I feel strongly about: Susan G. Komen for the Cure, anything against domestic abuse against women and children but my parent wailed that you have to send guest home with something. In which I heartily disagree but since my parents and I had a fierce argument over the fact that I am being a bad hostess and not providing a full sit down meal for my guests, I had to reconsider the favors. On a side note, for someone who said she was not going to be bullied into doing anything for her wedding she didn’t want to do, I sure am compromising a lot. Honey and I have maybe, probably, decided on giving away a “Fourth Meal” for our guests. Since we are doing a late night wedding, what better way to send off our guests with a goodnight snack.

I am thinking little cartons of full, 2 percent, or chocolate milk with barber stripe straws and a stack of homemade cookies tucked in little brown paper bags. I say New York Black and Whites and Baby wants good chocolate chip cookies. We shall see, we might have to rock, paper scissors on this one. Bonus, my mother and sister are great bakers and so we might be able to save some money on this favor (we might never be able to look another cookie in the face again but who cares?).

Barber Stripe Paper Straws: Ill take the blue and greys please

Barber Stripe Paper Straws: I'll take the blue and greys please

I think I can DIY this, non? Maybe I will make a stamp and handstamp each bag. But then what would I do with the stamp?

I think I can DIY this, non? Maybe I will make a stamp and handstamp each bag. But then what would I do with the stamp after the wedding?

Photo credits: paper bags from A Fabulous Fete

5 Comments leave one →
  1. barbride permalink
    October 20, 2009 10:40 am

    Cute idea! I think we might do lottery scratchers tucked into a vellum envelope with the phrase “Lucky in love” on the front. Doesn’t match our theme or anything but I think it’s cute and someone could win something. I think edible is definitely the way to go though!

    • missyap permalink*
      October 20, 2009 10:44 am

      What if someone wins a million bucks? Are they expected to split it with you? 😉

  2. October 21, 2009 3:46 am

    cute!!

  3. November 3, 2009 11:31 pm

    super cute idea! I just found your blog and I am psyched about it!

    lisa@craftmybride

  4. November 11, 2009 5:27 pm

    Love the cookies and milk idea!

Leave a Reply

