Skip to content

Sparkly Cake

October 19, 2009

In general, I hate wedding cakes. I do. I initally had plans to nix the whole idea of a wedding cake and just have a dessert table with the Boy’s and I’s favorites: New York Cheesecake (his), Red Velvet (mine), Chocolate cake (ours). My Bridesmaid #3 wails, “your wedding is going to look like a bake sale!” and my wedding coordinator put her foot down and said I had to have a cake. Out voted and peer pressured into dessert, I put my foot down and said absolutely, positively, no fondant. Really. It tastes like crap cardboard and to be honest, I am more concern about how the cake tastes than how it looks. Oh, and no white cake. What’s the point, it is like eating nothing. There is no taste. Though if my cake looked like this, I certainly wouldn’t complain. And yes, I am well aware that it is fondant on that bloody cake.

Perfect for my glam winter wedding, non?

Perfect for my glam winter wedding, non?


The cake topper is pretty freaking awesome. I wondering if it is actually a Christmas tree topper. That would be awesome: recycle!

The cake topper is pretty freaking awesome. I wondering if it is actually a Christmas tree topper. That would be awesome: recycle!


When I was younger I use to love these little pearl sugar balls. I would suck on them like tic tacs.

When I was younger I use to love these little pearl sugar balls. I would suck on them like tic tacs.

More importantly. I think I need that cake stand. How fabulous is that?

Photo credits: Brides.com

One Comment leave one →
  1. suan mei permalink
    October 19, 2009 11:50 am

    Hey Jess, congrats on your engagement! I have indeed been doing a lot of DIY too haha, so looks like I’m not alone. From buying my own flower aisle stands, vases, organza and netting, even buying own fake flowers to do up the stage a bit- to individually stamping every single 500 invite envelopes, I think I’m nuts. But its fun and cheaper! As for the cake, if minus fondant, ever thought of cupcakes?…wishing God’s blessings for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

