Skip to content

Those “Friends”

October 23, 2009
tags:
by

Bumped into one of those friends yet? You know the one I mean. You tell them you are engaged (or really, they usually find out via someone else) and they go “Oh. Well, I guess congratulations are in order”. But the reaction is sort of lukewarm? They ask you when the date is and then talk about their idea of a perfect wedding? I don’t know how to react to “friends” like these. My usual M.O. is to go “alright, what is on your mind? Do we have a problem with me getting married?”. Mainly because I am blunt like that. But then what really is the point? I am not seeking approval. What difference would it make if they had a problem? I smile and said all the right things when really I want to rip their heads off. Which I hate doing (not that I have personally ripped any heads off…) because I generally pride myself on being a stand up sort of girl. I am not fake and you will always know where you stand with me. Life is complicated enough without people making it more so.

*sigh* Know what I mean?

On the other hand, I finally showed my dress to one of my bridesmaids because I am seriously freaking out about my dress. As in, I put it on, had her zip it up for me (for future reference, no eating right before putting on the gown unless breathing is optional) and walk around for her. She loved it. Thank God. I would show it to my sister because I trust her taste even though her taste is vastly different from mine. But she is kind of. . . honest. Like really honest. And I don’t know if I could take that just yet. I needed someone to ohh and ahh and tell me how gorgeous I am and how perfect the gown is for me (can I have a personal entourage doing that all the time please? Thank you). So mind at ease, I feel so much better about my dress. Now I need shoes, shoes, shoes! So I can get my gown altered and I can walk around the house cleaning or something when I am blue without slamming my train into the door or tripping over my hem (which I do often enough on my own thank you very much without assistance).

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 25, 2009 12:29 am

    Hi there! I just found your blog from weddingbee (we’re date twins!). I like your planning so far đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

