Skip to content

The Wedding Cake

November 4, 2009

This is what my event coordinator Lara sent me from her cake vendor as a preliminary sketch of my cake:

LaraFeb

I in turn sent it to my family and unfortunately they were not impressed. Granted, my family does not impress easily. Something that would come as an accomplishment to most families is just given or expected in ours. The fact that my mother is an excellent cook and baker does not help. I am no stranger to the kitchen but I have cooked for the family twice. Under duress. They are just hard people to please in general. So surprise, surprise, my mother wants a cake like “in the Food Network show Ace Cakes” (I have never even heard of that show).

In return, I sent back a picture of what I ideally wanted. Sticking to my original guidelines of: no fondant and nothing elaborate.

Picture from Brides

Though with a cake budget of $250 can I pull this off? I know from (mom’s) experience with sugar flowers they are awfully time consuming and expensive. Ergo, not Shoestring Budget Friendly. I love what people can do with fondant and honestly, if it didn’t taste like crap cardboard, I would be all for it. I am more concern with how my cake tastes rather than looks. Whadaya think?

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 5, 2009 4:32 am

    Hi! First and foremost, how many people do you need to feed? Cake pricing is almost always per serving. My cakes for instance, start at $3.00 per serving (quite low compared to bakeries in bigger cities) and my fondant cakes start at $4.50 per serving. To answer your fondant question, fondant cakes have come a long way. We specialize in yummy fondant – made from marshmallows and my brides love it! We also do a thin apricot glaze under the fondant on the top of each tier (the way Martha Stewart does it so it has to be right!) which makes it even tastier. So to answer your question, no, you can’t get an Ace of Cakes style cake with sugar flowers for only #250. If for instance you had a small three tiered cake that serves 70: In buttercream it would be $210.00 and in fondant it would be $315. The cake you like above is fondant. The type of flowers you liked in the cake pictured above are sugar peonies. You would need at least four or five to get the look you like and they cost about $12.00 per flower. So just in sugar flowers you are looking at around $70.00. Here’s a link to a sugar peony cake I did recently that was only two tiers. http://www.flickr.com/photos/30559561@N07/3893307277/
    That would be in your budget and can look nice and grand if you put it on a pretty pedestal. But, it only serves about 50 people. Hope this info helps! Just remember, you always get what you pay for. If you find someone willing to give you a “great deal” it usually means they aren’t as skilled and you aren’t going to get the cake you are hoping for.

Leave a Reply

