Skip to content

I Found My Necklace. Kinda.

November 6, 2009
tags:
by

I wish brides would think more about investing in wedding jewelry. Wedding jewelry is something more feasible to pass down to your family than your wedding dress which will probably be outdated or possibly not the same size as your daughter and not to mention, exhorbitantly expensive to perserve. Now, jewelry, it does not have to be tens of thousands of dollars in order to be sentimental. Remember that Kenneth Jay Lane started off as a costume jewelry maker and now his vintage pieces fetch great prices at Christie’s. I found this piece on Etsy (where else?) and fell in love but spat out my coffee at the price. Poor old Shoestring Bride unfortunately can’t afford $235 on a necklace so I did the next best thing: I ask Bridesmaid #2 and bestie to help me make (something like) it. We are going to visit some vintage stores over Thanksgiving and Christmas and see if we can find a vintage piece to act as anchor. I shall document our endevours as they happen.

Six Stranded Eliana Necklace

Picture credited to Lulusplendor of Australia.

What a sentimental necklace it will be!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2009 3:07 am

    I saw this picture and immediately had to see where you found this treasure at. I think you’re totally right in wanting to have nice baubles to pass down to the next generation. My fiance gave me his g-ma’s pearls a few years ago as a Christmas gift, I’m having them re-strung to wear on our wedding day. I also want to find a vintage rosary to go around my bouquet, I think both of these items will be passed on to other family members. 🙂 I can’t wait to see your version of this necklace, it’s gorgeous!

  2. November 11, 2009 11:56 am

    Oh I cannot wait to see your new creation! Now I just need to get my hands on some crafty friends!!

Leave a Reply

