Skip to content

And the Bride wore… Red

November 12, 2009
by

To those who are acquainted with me, it is no secret that I love the color red. My phone was red (RIP LG Chocolate), every correspondence I send out (non wedding related) is red, I even wrap presents in red. It is my signature color. And this bride changed into an awesome Oscar De La Renta for her reception and the Valentino shoes I have been lusting over (seriously, I leave puddles on the floor at Neiman’s) forever makes me want to change into something red for my reception too. Unfortunately, red in no where in my color scheme (blame the Boy) and I spend much more than I should have for my wedding dress (worth every penny no matter what my sister says) and I don’t think I have room in the budget for another dress. However, it is traditional for east asian brides to change into something different for the reception. And I look a-w-e-s-o-m-e in red (and modest too). And red is good luck in chinese culture (wherelse blue is not).

 

Pictures liberated credited to Brooklyn Bride

But The Budget wins everytime. So *sigh*… I will just look and be envious.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2009 1:29 am

    Hot. I’ve been drooling over reception dresses too, but it would be difficult to justify the added expense to our budget. I think I’d rather drop additional money on our honeymoon than buy another dress when I stop and think about it. The shoes are adorable though, those I could find a way to work into the budget somehow. 🙂 Great post.

  2. November 13, 2009 3:20 am

    oh my gosh, you have to wear or at least change into red shoes for your reception! I’m sure you can find some fabulous red shoes that will fit into your budget. I actually wore the those valentino shoes in hotpink and slingback for my wedding and I love them so. You can totally justify them because you’ll definitely where them again after the wedding. I know that Nina makes a very similar shoe!
    Hmm.. this is the closest on their website: still fabulous!
    http://ninashoes.com/electra-red-rouge-luster–13165

  3. November 18, 2009 12:38 am

    Yes to the red shoes. If you want me to cavort through the interweb to look I will happily do so!!

Leave a Reply

