Skip to content

Wedding Favor Confusion

November 30, 2009

Now my problem as a bride is not that I don’t have enough ideas, I have too many. Which I solely blame the perhaps hundreds of wedding blogs, decor blogs, fashion blogs on my Google Reader that I read daily (because I am a loser like that). So I know I mentioned favors before and almost had my heart set on Cookies and Milk idea but milk is awfully hard to keep cool. Handing out milk just before the guest leaves feels like elementary school and putting it all in an ice bucket seems awfully unglamourous (maybe only if it were a crystal bucket but I digress).

I know kind of what I want for my favors. They have to be meaningful, useful (somewhat), and amazing. I mean, is that too much to ask? No not really. When bridesmaid #2 called me from the wedding aisle at Michael’s with favor options like a heart key (“get it? Key to my heart?”) bottle opener, or a heart wine bottle stopper, or . . .  I forget the last one. . . but you see what I mean; I knew I had to act before someone twisted my arm into handing out plasticky heart shaped (Hearts? Really? Do I look/sound like a heart shaped anything kinda gal?) thingamajigs.

So, for your consideration, I was thinking, maybe, possibly of Godiva Chocolate wedding favors. I really like their couture line. There will be no giving out M&Ms (nothing against the little guys) or Kisses or half off Halloween candy (or in my case half off Valentine’s Day candy) wrapped in tulle. No sir! Nothing but the best for Miss Yap even if she is a Shoestring Bride, thank you very much! Check these out!

I am in love with these little wedding cakes but at $38 for 4, the price is a little stiff. And I probably have to gussy them up with little notes with swirly calligraphy probably a velvet ribbon. We might have to do something about that Godiva on the side of the box. I am really not one for lables (Chanel being the exception). So a (slightly) more affordable option is their Celebration Cakes

At $20 for a set of 4 a bride really could do worst. That is about $5 a cake not including shipping, taxes, packaging, set up, delivery, and other amount of crazy miscellaneous items they tag on there. And now they have a free standard shipping over on purchases over $50 which I cannot take advantage of because I know I will need to stew over this for a bit and throw out 47 other ideas before deciding. What say you girls? Would you leave them at the gift table or try and sneak two or three into your purse before you leave? I would like to hear what other Brides are thinking of for their favors. It is getting to be quite the stick up my butt if you know what I mean.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2009 9:42 pm

    wow! gorgeous favours! I love them!!

  2. December 1, 2009 3:45 am

    I actually like the celebration cakes better! Nicer packaging 🙂
    For favors: I stuck with the advice that it must be edible! I didn’t want to send anybody home with knickknacks they were going to throw away. Everybody loves chocolate! I gave out personalized teatins of peppermint tea from adagio teas with chocolate tea cookies and it was hit. The tin tins came out to about 2.30 a pop. I’m not sure if they do this anymore cuz I can’t find it on their website.

  3. barbride permalink
    December 1, 2009 4:47 am

    I have been coveting these favors for months! Depending on how many guests you have it may be worth it. Or at least you could give them to your bridesmaids! I’ll be curious to see what you decide.

  4. December 1, 2009 7:58 am

    Kind of pricey if you have a lot of guests, but I know I would appreciate receiving these adorable little cakes if I was a guest.

Leave a Reply

