Skip to content

The Shoestring Bride Tries Her Hand At DIY

December 8, 2009
tags: ,
by

*gasp*

I know, I know, I am so not a D-I-Y gal but I saw these on the veritable Style Me Pretty and I could not resist. I am having a sparklers getaway and how wonderful would a bunch of these be in an apocathary jar tagged “matches” (just in case people don’t know) along side the sparklers. I am shocked that they turned out so well honestly. I am rethinking the blue because don’t you think they overpower the pale pink? The intructions were really helpful but I made a few adjustments.

My supplies with one addition: Tito's Vodka brewed here in Austin, Texas. *shrug* Sometimes a girl needs a little help

Instead of using hair dryer to unwrap the matchbox, I cheated and wiggled a cutting blade in between the seams. Much more efficent I think!

Instead of using a Word template (complicated), or cutting a window template (more complicated). So I traced the matchbox on the wrapping paper and cut it out. Easy peasy!

The blue stripe wrapper seems a little pajama pant-ish, don't you think? So I had labels cut out. Here is some trial labels written with a ballpoint pen.

In the interest of recycling (or the lack of proper materials), I used a Urban Outfitters shopping bag for the labels. Thumbs up for resourcefulness I say!

Ta-dah, the finished product!

I am still not positively sure I like the blue stripe. If it was not $8 a sheet from Paper Source ($8!) I would get another sheet.

I am really like the pink matchbooks though. The slight art deco feel and the pink is perfect!

A pile of finished matchbooks! Yay. *swig of vodka*

I am so excited. For myself! For a DIY project well done! Can I get a pat on the back? Yeah! Do we likey the tags or no tag? Do the blue stripes look men’s pajama pant-ish or am I just over thinking it like I over think everything?

update: Since this is a Shoestring Bride Blog, it is only appropriate to include an cost list

Self-healing cutting mat and cutting blade from Michael’s: $5

Glue Stick also from Michael’s: $4

Two wrapping papers from Paper Source: $15

Matchboxes: $1 for a package of 10 (bought 3 packages, the dog ate one package)

Making something semi-passable: priceless!

Total: $27

Vodka’s, ruler, scissors, and pencil: Shoestring Bride’s own

2 Comments leave one →
  1. barbride permalink
    December 8, 2009 2:56 pm

    Beautiful!!! I am jealous, we are not allowed sparklers at our venue. Sad panda. The vodka cracked me up. 🙂

  2. December 9, 2009 12:41 pm

    I love it! I used that pink scalloped paper from papersource for my save the dates! purrrrty!

Leave a Reply

