Skip to content

I Have Been A Very, Very Bad Bride

December 10, 2009

Bridesmaid #2: Hello? You called?

Me: Yes, I did. I went to a sample sale in Dallas today and I fell in love with another wedding dress *last part said really fast just to get it out*

Bridesmaid #2: Wha- –

Me: Now, now, I made an appointment on Saturday for you to see it you can tell me what you think. So please hold your judgement till Saturday and don’t think I am crazy

Bridesmaid #2: Too late. I already think you are crazy.

I know, I know, what was I thinking right? It is like an recovering alcoholic walking into a bar really. “Just to look” I promised myself and indeed, I only tried on three dresses. Just three. All of them by Junko Yoshioka. I might not be able to pronounce her name but the lady cuts a beautiful dress.

I tried on the Jacqueline:

Just to see what I would look like in a ballgown. I look lovely, really. I see now why people make a fuss about big poofy gowns. They are really a little girl’s dress come true. They twirl, they spin, and they are poofy, they make you want to dance all night *cue song from ‘My Fair Lady*. What more do you want in a dress? The corset top helped me not look like a giant cream puff. But alas, it was not the dress for me. The last dress was gorgeous. Everything I ever wanted in a dress. Okay, maybe not everything I ever wanted, I mean, it isn’t going to wash the dishes for me or anything. The worst of it all is that I did not get a picture for you awesome readers (all 6 of you). It is lacy, but still glamourous, vintage while looking quite modern all for under a thousand dollars. You could do worst at David’s Bridal.

When I get home, the discussion with the fiance goes something like this:

Me: So I was very bad today

Shoestring Boy: Uh-huh…

Me: So I went to a bridal sample sale

Shoestring Boy: *wary look* What did you buy?

Me: Nothing. But there is this dress I am really in love with.

*silence*

Me: Honey, aren’t you going to say anything?

Shoestring Boy: Uh, I was suppose to say something? What was I suppose to say?

Me: I don’t know. I thought you would be mad or something

Shoestring Boy: Mad? Why would I be mad? It is not like you are going to buy anything.

Me: *wondering how I ended up with a wool-headed sheep for a fiance*. . . But I want to.

Shoestring Boy: Why? I thought you already have one why do you need another one?

Me: *tries another tactic* But honey, I just want to look special for you on our special day!

Shoestring Boy: Honey, you always look special to me no matter what you wear.

Me: *sigh*

Yes ladies, he says things like that on a regular basis and he actually means it (I mean, who does that?). Which makes it so hard for a cynical joe like me to get around. Then I would actually have to admit, well, the dress is really for me.

I think I am crazy.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2009 10:26 am

    Wait, I’m confused! Is your other dress the one that was too small? Please update your six readers (including me :)) on the current wedding dress situation.

    (p.s. I have two wedding dresses–couldn’t decide which one to get at a J.Crew sample sale and bought them both.)

    • missyap permalink*
      December 10, 2009 10:34 am

      Awww… *blush* I am shocked someone keeps up. Shockingly the “other” dress fits now. No dieting required. I will post a photo up soon in all its glory to compare with dress numero deux when I go visit on Saturday with my entourage.

  2. December 10, 2009 10:38 am

    Yes, I keep up! I actually started reading you when I quoted you on my OTHER wedding blog (I don’t know why, but I felt a need to have two)…funnyweddingthings.tumblr.com.

    (By the way, I haven’t told anyone about my wedding blogs…you’re the first, you internet stranger, you!)

    • missyap permalink*
      December 10, 2009 10:43 am

      My God, you are hysterical. You might be a kindred spirit stranger!

  3. December 11, 2009 12:55 am

    Oh my boy is the same! P.S. you know I’m always reading!

  4. barbride permalink
    December 11, 2009 2:32 am

    You’re not a bad bride! I am going through the same thing actually! Got a dress a few weeks after we got engaged, now found another one…I just don’t blog about it for fear of what people will say!

    • missyap permalink*
      December 11, 2009 3:19 am

      lol. Where else can talk about it if you cannot blog?

  5. December 11, 2009 8:13 pm

    its like going to an animal shelter. don’t even go or you will leave with everything 🙂

    • missyap permalink*
      December 12, 2009 6:19 am

      Hahaha! Indeed it is like an animal shelter! You want to take them all home!

  6. December 12, 2009 12:01 am

    You and your fiancee are the cutest!

    Nina

  7. December 12, 2009 12:54 pm

    🙂 oh, I’m totally the same way! I’m ended up getting TWO vera wang dresses at two different Warron Barron Sample sales (which you need to check out seriously, i think the next one is in Jan). Everyone thought I was crazy 🙂 but I ended up getting to wear both when I had to have two different ceremonies (long story).. hehe.. it’s so hard when these dresses are sooo pretty! hard to resist.

Leave a Reply

