Skip to content

New Dress: DENIED

December 15, 2009

As promised, here are the full length (now properly zipped up all the way, thank you very much) pictures of my gown. It is a little long (even with my six inch heels on. Sad panda) so I made an appointment with a seamstress to get it taken up after Christmas. Whatdaya think? So Saturday, I dutifully drove my happy behind to my sister’s to try on my dress for her and then the both of us went to collect Bridesmaid #2 and off we went to see the Junko.

We were in the store a total of 15 minutes. Seriously.

I put on the Junko and came out well prepared for “oh, that is beautiful”, “you look gorgeous”. My sister gave me a once over and said “I don’t like it” within the space of the time it took me to say simultaneously “don’t you love it?”.

Ok. Guess not.

 Bridesmaid #2 who is more tackful than my sister (it is not hard to be) said “I think the dress you have now is much, much prettier”. By the end of it they had even the saleslady telling me not to buy the dress (like Shoestring Boy would let me get away with it!) and stick with the one I have. “It looks like curtains,” my sister pans. “Jess, you know we would tell you if this dress looked better on you” Bridesmaid #2 reminds me. And indeed they would. With no regards to my feelings or checkbook I might add. I sighed and went in to change. It was not to be after all.

I did try on a couple of veils though none were it. Though I have to say it is really hard to get a feel for the veil when you are in jeans and a sweatshirt. Or maybe that is just me.

However, if you would like to check out the sales yourself and you happen to be in the Dallas area, Debra’s is having a great sample sale. Vida my salesgirl is absolutely lovely (she looks a little like Kerry Washington). They are one of only two stores in Texas to carry Junko. And Junko at $900 from $4000, I might add.

Picture credited to Shoestring Sister. Photo was taken in her entry way. Hair not done. No makeup on. Yeah, I look sexy.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2009 3:46 am

    You do! You do look sexy! I love the dress, you are totally rocking in it!!

  2. December 15, 2009 6:01 am

    Oh, that dress is nice–I like the cut and the fabric.

    • missyap permalink*
      December 15, 2009 6:25 am

      Don’t you think its a little plain though? 😦

  3. December 15, 2009 7:00 am

    No, I like plain. I’ve seen some fabulous complicated wedding gowns, but those tend to be really expensive. I think complicated has a higher chance of looking cheap, if it’s not done well.

  4. December 19, 2009 2:45 pm

    Honestly, I love it!

Leave a Reply

