Skip to content

Pretty Pretty Presents

December 19, 2009

Taking a cue from the very stylish Cassandra from Coco & Kelley, I decided to decorate my bookshelves with presents. Also, partly because I don’t have a tree. *sigh* You make do with what you do have and do the best you can with it I always say!

Above and below, my very own bookcases. The boy favors black furniture and warm wood. I prefer white furniture. We compromised. We got black furniture. Though I have to say, our little apartment doesn’t get much light (except at the most inconvenient moments like when you want to sleep in) so I guess Shoestring Boy just really wanted a bat cave and light furniture seems to look way better in rooms with lots of light and 12 foot windows. Just saying. 

The two present above are for my sister. I am coding my presents by wrapping differently for different folks this year so I don’t have to use tags.

A close up. You know, it case you missed it the first time. I want you to know, that pom-pom was made with love . . . and a lot of cuss words. I went through 4 tester pom-poms before I finally made one with the size and appropriate fluffiness I wanted. My dog is going to be pooping red yarn for weeks to come.

There is suppose to be extra ribbon rosette there but I ran out of ribbon. And then bought the wrong color ribbon (there is an insane amount of reds out there. I should know this as a wannabe designer). So that will hopefully be rectified as of tomorrow.

I can almost smell Christmas around the corner. Are y’all ready?

Pictures credited to Coco + Kelley and Shoestring Bride

3 Comments leave one →
  1. barbride permalink
    December 19, 2009 4:20 am

    Love the poms! You should do a tutorial 🙂

    • missyap permalink*
      December 19, 2009 7:02 am

      Oh Lord, that would mean I need more vodka. And more yarn. I think I spend a whole roll of yarn making this one (and 4 dud ones)
      But your wish is my command.

  2. December 19, 2009 2:42 pm

    oh, the poms are AMAZING! you have more patience than i do! i love that you put the presents in your shelves… if we had any close to the tree i think i’d do the same!

Leave a Reply

