Skip to content

A Christmas Summary [2009]

December 28, 2009

So the highlights of this Christmas was unending days of hubby. He works so much that 10 days of him (kind of) all to myself is almost too much to handle. Luckily for him I am woman enough for the job.

There was a lot of beating up of the siblings:

Friendly…

Above Shoestring Sister and Brother dukes it out with awesome skull-breaker pops. Seriously, that thing is solid and they hurt when you get hit. I am smarter than that. I just document.

…And not so friendly:

Me: You got Lego Batman with your XBox 360? Sweet, since you don’t want it can I have it? (Don’t judge. It’s not nice)

Shoestring Brother: Sorry, I am selling it to Austin for $20 or 3 months of Xbox Live. Why? You got a better offer? *sneaky look*

Me: … *thinks WTF mate? I am your freaking sister!*

BTW, my brother is 13. Who does that at freaking 13?

 And the inevitable craziness that ensues when best mates, chocolate cake and bridesmaids are all back in town. Of course, some talk was wedding talk. Missa (on left) has just gone to her first wedding. Ever. How on Earth has she escaped weddings and or being in weddings is beyond me. We are in Texas in the freaking buckle of the Bible belt where everyone above the legal age is looking for their soulmate so they can get married and have guiltless fornication. We coined the phase “ring by junior spring” I could almost swear it! She is describing the wedding to us in wedding-virgin wonder and goes “. . . and her dress was just beautiful. It was like a tablecloth”.

Um. Ok. So it was lacey? Oy Vey.

And we made our own invitations to our second “asian” reception dinner. Lisa would be so proud. It was really easy, shockingly. Just needed a printer and a glue stick and labels that we printed ourselves (no, DIY calligraphy sad day. Printer would not cooperate that far). I will dedicate a whole post to this later because I was just that amazing. Oh, and mom helped too. There was nearly some blood spilled but we won’t go into that.

Oh and food. Sumptuous amounts of it. Brain addling amounts of it. So much so when dad said grace for Christmas he thanked God for our starvation instead of our salvation.

A Christmas to remember.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2009 7:52 pm

    Sounds fabulous my lovely!

    P.S. Lego batman is no lego indiana jones!!

    • missyap permalink*
      December 29, 2009 10:24 am

      Oh I have not even played the lego indie! I am so jealous! Though I have to say my favorite was the Lego Star Wars maybe because I am super nerdy

  2. Gaikkie permalink
    December 28, 2009 7:58 pm

    Jess,

    Been following your blog since I found it on Facebook. Thought I’d drop a note to wish you a belated Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! Love your blog. Please keep writing!

    Oh, and your brother was in elementary school the last time I saw him. Eeks!

    Gaik Ping

    • missyap permalink*
      December 29, 2009 10:23 am

      Oh it is so good to hear from you, dear. Thank you for all your nice words. I mean to write you an email but it seemed so long it felt awkward. Hope all is well and a happy new year to you too.

  3. December 28, 2009 8:30 pm

    and I am! 🙂

  4. December 30, 2009 6:38 am

    wait…. if you’re not married yet you don’t get to call him “hubby.” just saying.

  5. December 30, 2009 1:46 pm

    pls excuse me for being an enormous a*hole. OBVIOUSLY, he is your hubby.

    • missyap permalink*
      December 30, 2009 2:09 pm

      But that is why we love you! 😉

Leave a Reply

