Skip to content

Goodbye 2009. . .

December 31, 2009

In 2009:

I learned to come to terms with my depression. That is it no longer something I am ashamed of or a tool to ellict pity but something that is a part of me that I hope to outgrow or remove. Like a bad haircut or an ingrown toenail.

The love of my life proposed and I said “yes”

I lost some friends but I married my bestest friend in a ceremony that will be special to me no matter how awesome the wedding is because I remember why I am going through all this and why I love him.

I realized that not being able to find a job does not make me less of a person and that I cannot control everything. What I do (or not do) for a living does not define who I am as a person even though I am still trying to come to terms with it.

I got to show my Honey my favorite city in the whole world (NYC) and learned that going to watch Fourth of July firework with the crowd is so not worth it. And realized a change in me: that if Shoestring Boy did not come with me to NYC, maybe I don’t want to move after all. My home is wherever he is.

Married off some of my friends and watch some love ones have their heart broken, both strangely painful in different ways.

I learn new things (poodle curls and I are not friends) and pick up some bad habits (yay for Dr. Pepper everyday) and realized there are just somethings I was never meant to do (D-I-Y).

I finally did one of the thing I always wanted to do: start my own blog and made new friends (see blog roll/reads). Always thought personal blogs were narcissistic and realized, “wait, I am full of myself”.

Loved, forgave, danced, cried.

For those who has ever been with me in this ride of a year no matter how small or large, online or in person, thank you for the fun times. I look forward to 2010 with you and hoping that the coming year will be the most awesomest year we have seen yet.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2009 1:45 pm

    P.S. I am what you might call underemployed, but I choose to call it FUNEMPLOYMENT. Makes life a little less grim.

  2. December 31, 2009 8:00 pm

    Here’s to 2010.

    I cannot wait to see what it holds!

  3. January 2, 2010 1:42 am

    Happy New Year!!!

Leave a Reply

