Skip to content

. . . And Hullo 2010

January 1, 2010
tags:
by

I think everyone should have New Years Resolutions and I know most people do not. It seems the older we grow up, the more cynical we become: New Years Resolutions never get fulfilled (uh-huh and whose fault is that?), it is just silly to designate one day of the year for new resolutions – we can make new resolutions any time of the year (and I am sure you do that at some random time during the year *raise eyebrow*. That is why, my dears, we have crapsticks like Valentine’s Day because silly humans need a day to remind them “oh ya, I really do love so and so”). So see folks, I am on to your little excuses.

I am going to get so bashed for this post!

I know what you are going to say next: “well, do you accomplish all your New Years Resolutions, Miss Hoity-Toity?” Well, no (“ah-HAH!” you say) but the magic in New Year’s Resolutions isn’t that we make them during a specific time of the year or that we accomplish them (of course accomplishing them is the goal) but that we make them at all. The desire to be better than we are. Si?

Without further ado, here are Jesselyn’s Resolutions for 2010:

I will get married in awesome Jesselyn-Shoestring-Bride style and keep my sanity. And my credit. (always start with one very accomplish-able goal. Then, at the end of the year you can say “well, I did manage to do one…)

I will learn how to drive a stick shift (the car not the human organ) and drive it well.

I will learn to control/beat my depression and send it packing to the sticks once and for all. This ought to be interesting because I have no idea how I am going to accomplish this. I have had it (depression) for a year now, I think I would have sent it packing before now if I knew how!

I will go to church weekly unless: I am dying/ cannot walk/ already dead/ kidnapped/ divine intervention prevents me from being at church. I do have a home church but unfortunately I have not regularly attended for a couple of years now. Every time I go back, the Sunday School introduces me as the “new” girl even though I have been going there since my freshman year. Humiliating.

I will be more adventurous with my wardrobe.

What are your New Year’s Resolutions?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

