Skip to content

Brace Yourself For More Bling

January 4, 2010

So I do need a bracelet to complete my “modern vintage glam look”. I don’t think anyone really knows what a “modern vintage glam look” really looks like, to be completely honest. It’s one of those vague ideas that people (or I) say “I know when I see it”. A modern twist on vintage glamour I guess but in this age when every design seems to be borrowed from another area, isn’t everything a modern twist on what was? But I digress.

My problem with bracelets usually is that most of them are too big for my wrist and tend to fall off. So basically, I have the same problems with bracelets that I do with shoes and we all saw what a tedious journey that was. Petite people have some style issues too. However, here are some “looks” that I think would be awesome with my earrings.

I don’t particularly like Kate Spade’s bags. Seems too staid for me but their accessories, however, are super fun. These shoes for example have been all over the blogsphere for good reason. I want them too but $400 is a little (just a little) steep for me. Certainly does not stop me from lusting though! However, these two above are from Kate Spade. I love the cuff; cuffs make it easier for me to adjusted it so it does not drop off. And the pearls are a little whimsical, a little different from the usual string of pearls. Looks a little childish but part of the charm I guess.

 

This is gorgeous too. I am afraid it might be too small to contest my blinging earrings but it would echo the curves of my earrings really well though. To get to the source, click through to the picture. This is Annetta by Bridal Bling.

I love this Clusters of Joy bracelet too. I think I am seeing a theme here! Though at $140 it is a little steep for my budget, however there is free shipping and I do love free shipping.

I make no secret of my love for jewelry mecca Max and Chloe (they need to pay me for gushing, really!). Whoever their buyer is has impeccable taste. The bracelets above is $75 and free shipping (did I mention I love free shipping?)! On the other wrist I can wear the bracelet below. I am just kidding. Sorta.

I love me some pearls. It is classic (shoestring Boy says he is getting very tired of the word “classic” which he says with a pseudo British accent which would make Anna cringe I am sure). Seeing as it is the only thing I wear, I thought it might be appropriate. I think it is important to be true to yourelf. Especially on this big day. If you don’t neccesarily like big jewelry, don’t all of a sudden decide you should. If you are glamorous, don’t suddenly decide that cute and understated might be the best way to go. You’ll just confuse everyone else and wonder years later, “what the crapsticks was I thinking?” I think the only thing I am doing that is not entirely “me” is growing my hair out (which I have had short since my sophomore year of college) to put it up.  Partly because of glamour and partly because it more practical.  Do you agree?

Pictures are from their sources

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 8:19 am

    Classic is fabulous my darling boy! (You should hear my american accent!)

    Love the Max and Chloe cuffs. Or maybe just a string of pearls which you can artfully wrap around your wrist? I’m always buying long necklaces to wrap around my wrist.

  2. January 4, 2010 10:57 am

    Love these bracelets! Maybe I’ll get one of the Max and Cleo ones for my city hall wedding now…thanks!

    • Jesselyn permalink*
      January 4, 2010 12:56 pm

      Yay. So glad you found my round up helpful

  3. Dinah permalink
    January 25, 2010 5:37 am

    Doesnt your mum get you a braclet for the wedding? Usually asians parents or in laws get you a nice gold chunk of a braclet, but I am sure u could change that for pearls and vintage?

  4. Jesselyn permalink*
    January 25, 2010 11:08 am

    Lol. In America the brides parents pay for the wedding. So combine that and the fact that my parents are paying for the lodging and food for all my out of town relatives for two weeks. Means I don’t think that I am getting jewelry. Oh and Mr. Shoestring Boy’s family is not asian

Leave a Reply

