Skip to content

One Day

January 5, 2010

“I am never getting married” I proclaimed (and often) to anyone who would listen. There were just too many things to do. I haven’t even seen half of Europe yet! I want to learn to surf. Spend a couple (or a decade) of years living in New York. I want to go back to France and reexperience what I didn’t full appreciate as a newly graduated high schooler. “But when you get married you’ll have someone to go to all of those stuff with!” they would enthuse, “all things better experienced with someone else!” I should have known they were lying. About the first part at least. Not that I ever believed them anyway. I can’t run away to live in Manhattan in a heartbeat anymore. Shackles rang in my ears when the Boy first brought up marriage. “I am not ready! I cannot!”

My honey if he is very lucky gets two days off every week from work. If we are exceptionally blessed that week, we might even get both days in a row. Every week without fail when his schedule is released on Thursday and I find out when his next days off are, I wait and count impatiently till the days when I don’t have to kiss him goodbye and wait impatiently for him to come home.

When those days arrive, we wake up together and hold hands and cuddle before coming fully to conciousness. Most days we don’t even leave our little apartment; shunning the outside to coccoon away in our little world. I occasionally make dinner. We sit on the couch while he plays video games till his thumbs fall off and I sit next to him and read whatever book I am stuck on at the present moment, inking my hands with carbon from page turning. We walk the dog together, holding hands bundled up against the cold. Conversation is usually light: him explaining the last mission on his game or the lastest weapon he has procured while I pretend to listen (do I really care that this dagger ups his accuracy by 3 points and his evasion by 7? No, not really). I read him passages from my current novel or blog and ask him for his opinion. In short, we do absolutely nothing at all and I couldn’t be happier.

However, I have far from decided to give up on my list of things to do before I turn 100. No, I cannot decide to move to New York tomorrow if my dream job arrives. The Honey and I will decide together. And I have lived in New York. Only for a summer but oh what a wonderous summer it was! There are though, a lot more things on my list. We will visit Europe because my dreams are important to me and I am important to him. We will have a white picket fence and a big house with black shutters in a neighbourhood where our children can play because those are his dreams which are mine now too because he is important to me. Whether we do all the things on our list or some of them, I am happier because we are together. On the couch for now but one day Europe and one day children and one day . . .

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2010 9:31 pm

    These are the same reasons why I never wanted to marry. It seems we are very persausive women, however, and will be able to get the men to see things our way 😉 See you in Europe.

    • Jesselyn permalink*
      January 5, 2010 11:40 pm

      Hah! Our men never had a chance!

  2. January 6, 2010 8:42 am

    I see it the same. I still have my same dreams but I also get a whole extra set of excitement to dream about.

  3. January 12, 2010 11:00 pm

    This is where I got lucky meeting an Irish guy… he has stipulated that we MUST go back to Europe every 2 years at least.

    • Jesselyn permalink*
      January 13, 2010 12:07 am

      Lucky. My boy doesn’t even have a passport. Can you imagine? My word. So we are fixing that pronto!

  4. Dinah permalink
    January 25, 2010 5:30 am

    Sweetie, you always said u would never marry young, but in our little group you were first! Married life is bliss isnt it? Well not always but it is nice! Love being married and love ya too. Hugs

Leave a Reply

