Skip to content

The Lion Blanket

January 15, 2010
tags: ,
by

Shoestring Boy has this huge queen size blanket; it has lions on it. The story is that his estranged father brought it home from a trip to Singapore while Shoesting Boy’s father was in the Navy. There are pictures of my beloved as a baby in diapers lying down on this blanket. It is ancient. The corners have been chomped on by our dog so there are chunks missing from the corner. I hate it. I would love to toss it away but he won’t let me. So instead I hide it in a storage bin that I bought from Walmart along with that horrible twin size quilt that I bought in the throes of my Shabby Chic obsession as a freshman in college (I know! Embaressing) and the extra sheets that I will never use again but the pack rat I am cannot bring myself to give them away.

While I was gone over the weekend, my beloved decided he wanted a warm body in bed with him. Since I wasn’t around, he decided the dog would have to do. Well, apparently the dog pees in his sleep and peed all over my egyptian cotton sheets and Dwell Studio duvet that I bought from Anthropologie and my feather comforter. I was very proud of myself, I handled it superbly. As in I didn’t wig out. Well, not very much. Just a little. Hey what would you have done? So as our sheets, duvet, and comforter are at the cleaners, what could I do? I dragged out the tatty-ratty lion blanket.

As I woke up and watch him dress for work, the rough scratchiness rubbing against my skin. It brought back memories. Memories of us. My first encounter with the lion blacket was when we were first dating. When we spent almost every waking moment together and the uncomfortableness of sharing a twin bed was not even an issue (now even our queen bed seems too small). He had blue threadbare sheets, I remember, on his mattress on the floor of his room in the fraternity house. Before I came over, he would frantically clean his room from top to bottom and then brag that he had the pledges clean his room for him. In case I did not know, he was a big deal.

The lion blanket has not been washed in his recent memory and in my insane romance crazed mind, the blanket smelt incredible. It smelt like him. The day he told me loved me it was on that blanket. I was upset. I came home and cried in his arms. He wiped the tears off my cheeks and told me “I love you”. Awesome. I am red, raw nosed, and teary and you tell me you love me. I didn’t response. For two hours. I did not want him to think I was just reponding to him. No, not really, I just wanted to make him sweat.

So I hate the thing. The first thing I did when we moved in together was to send it to the cleaners and packed it away. However one day, I hope to pass it on to my kids. It will probably be their blanket when they go away to college and maybe they will make their own memories on it. For now, I have mine. Thank God I don’t have to take the lion blanket out too often to remember them.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Pamela permalink
    April 30, 2014 7:51 pm

    Is there any way you can remember or tell me where I can get a blanket exactly like the one in your picture? I have been trying so hard to search on the internet but nothing really spark my interest. Any feedback will be greatly appreciated. Thank you

    • jtoufar permalink*
      April 30, 2014 8:12 pm

      My husband’s father got it in Singapore even before his birth unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

