Skip to content

What Are You Reading?

January 15, 2010
tags:
by

So what is on your bedside table?

I know we might be brides. We are smart, articulate, and Heaven’s knows if that weddings are all we had on the brain all day everyday we would die a slow, painful, abately beautiful death. Against my better judgement, I let my sister drag me into Barnes and Nobles (right after The Container Store, no less! ) and bought a whole lot more books than I should have. One of which is the new book by Elizabeth Gilbert “Committed”. I think Elizabeth and I can be friends. I will let you know how she does with this book.

So, what are you reading, ladies? I need some recommendations.

Sheer coincidence with ESB‘s post but nevertheless, still appropriate. Have you taken the pledge?

I have.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2010 7:56 am

    I just bought ‘Animal Vegetable Miracle’ and ‘Pride and Prejudice and Zombies’. I guess I like book siwht 3 things listed in the title. If you are looking for a funny book to relieve wedding stress read “I was told they’d be cake’ by Sloane Crosley. It was awesome

    • Jesselyn permalink*
      January 16, 2010 2:59 am

      Oh my gosh, I desperately want to read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. Tell me if it is worth the read will you?

  2. January 15, 2010 7:56 am

    I meant “books with” not “book siwht”…oops!

  3. January 16, 2010 7:23 pm

    I read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies — it’s an entertaining read and I liked it. I think it’s gonna be the only one I’ll read in the series, but I didn’t regret buying it. It’s sort of the book equivalent of Buffy the Vampire Slayer: it’s campy and funny, and actually written intelligently, but the novelty wears off after a while.

    I’m conflicted about Elizabeth Gilbert: she pulls you in and you can’t help but sympathize with her because she’s so darn good at narrating the harrowing emotional process she goes through at various points in her life, but at the same time, she’s a bit too…hmmmm, how do I say this without sounding completely judgemental?… flighty. I guess what I’m trying to say is that I sometimes get the unsettling feeling that she’s trying to justify some incredibly selfish decisions by saying it was all in the spirit of self-discovery. I have to admit that I’ve only read Eat, Pray, Love, and I’m still deciding if I’ll get her latest book.

    • Jesselyn permalink*
      January 17, 2010 2:15 am

      I really cannot say anything. I am writing a wedding blog and justifying it! lol

      I will give you my opinion on Committed when read it. Right now I am on “Lulu Meets God and Doubt Him”

  4. January 21, 2010 1:49 pm

    I just started “My Most Excellent Year” by Steve Kluger…my sister works in the youth department of the public library and keeps me updated on what’s new in the young adult section. I took the pledge too!

Leave a Reply

