Skip to content

The Reform Of The Mass Produce Dress

January 19, 2010

Wow. What happen to David’s?

What happen to Alfred?

Um hello Spring 2010! My name is the Shoestring Bride and I am a recovering dress-cholic. I usually like dresses twice your price range but you don’t look half bad.

There are not any David’s Bridal dresses in here because their pictures are itty bitty. So I decided to eff it and just throw in the Alfred Angelo dresses but the new arrivals at David‘s are also TDI (for the non initiated, it is short for To Die For). I am not going to lie, the retro gal in me really digs the big poofs with the pockets. Loves it.

Now, you snooty brides, I know what you are going to say:

“But everyone will have my dress!”

Well, actually, unless you get a dress from Vera Wang Luxe collection which cost upwards of like oh, I don’t know… $10K, ya probably gonna find a couple of brides out there with your dress. I know, shame right? So either, you get a vintage dress (which I highly recommend). Or for Heaven’s sake make the dress your own. I personally Jesselyn-ify all my outfits. Stick a bejeweled belt on that dress. Or a floral sash. Get some pearls and get your seamstress to pepper them across your bustline.  I am wearing a $4K dress (I didn’t pay that much for it but you get the point) and I know like 3 other brides who also are wearing that dress. Not personally, mind you (I think I would cry) but seriously, other people are going to have your dress. So you might as well, just get use to that idea right now.

“But o.m.g. the quality is, like, yuck”

Honey, for real, you are only going to wear that freaking dress for like 5 hours at the very most. How awful can it be? As long as: there are no bumps along the seam on the side, it fits well (Ie: no spillage, no gaping) it will be fine. I highly doubt your guest is going to look at you float down the aisle and go “Holy cow, you see that dress? It’s like polyester or something. Gross!” If you have guests are anything like me, you might get a “you got your dress at Alfred Angelo!” but would that be the end of the world? I also, on a more regular basis, also go “I love your dress! Anthropologie, right? I nearly bought it!”. That’s only because I (a) writing a wedding blog. I also can recognize Claire Pettibone. Elizabeth Fillmore down to the season. Monique Lhullier and the names of her dresses. So really, the fact that I recognise that it comes from David’s or Alfred is really a compliment (is that stretching it?) (b) I shop way more than I should (or that my husband likes).

 “It is going to be the most photographed piece of clothing I will ever wear!”

And your point being? That it has to be awesome? Who says a dress has to cost upward of $2K in order to be photograph worthy? Or awesome for that matter. That is also a piece of wedding industry droll that they like to use so you spend more than you have/ wanted to in the first place. Like “If you don’t have letterpress wedding invitations, no one is going to want to come to your wedding”. I think you need to reassess what this means to you. It is a wedding. Not the prom. You are not 18 anymore, you are older. You don’t have to win best dressed. You are going to be best dressed regardless, you know. There is no competition. This is it. You won. You are the only one wearing the white dress and you are the one with the winner of a guy.

 Next, tips shopping for the mass produced dress!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2010 10:23 pm

    You ARE dressed much fancier than your guests. How can you lose the best dressed award?

    I like Davids and AA. But I like department store white dresses better.

  2. January 20, 2010 10:35 am

    Oh! Weren’t you the girl who was all, “I don’t want David’s Bridal!” to your mom. 😉

    Anyway, I think you have a good point, but the fact is that you can get a nice dress that’s not polyester. (I have TWO J.Crew dresses I got from a sample sale. I guess I should write about it on my blog instead of blabbing here, but anyway.) I know, polyester is not a big deal, but I *do* think it can look not-so-smart. Of course, a beautiful bride will look fabulous in everything, but I have seen some truly tacky looking dresses. (Polyester or not.) My point is that for the amount you spend at David’s Bridal, you can something nicer in a different fabric–hell, even cotton.

    • Jesselyn permalink*
      January 20, 2010 1:00 pm

      You are so right. But they did NOT have these dresses when I was wedding dress shopping that is for sure!

  3. January 20, 2010 5:59 pm

    Ha ha nice post. My dress is polyester, I was practically apologizing to a recently married friend recently while showing her the dress, like I was going to disappoint her. What strange expectations we have for ourselves, or fear that other’s have for us. Honestly, out of all the weddings I’ve been too in my life I don’t even remember what the dresses looked like. Your guests will forget. Its all for you.

  4. January 20, 2010 11:34 pm

    whoa – you are hilarious.

    love that bit about the prom. i always want to SAY that to the crazy-bride-friends in my life…but i’ll just refer them to your site instead.

    i’m going to go pour through all of your posts now.
    thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

