Skip to content

Let’s Pretend We Are Not Shallow

January 21, 2010
by

No sweat. Just for like less than 5 minutes. In the time that it will take you to read this post.

And then we can go back to floral centerpieces. Vintage awesomeness. The great debate of polyester versus real silk.

That little earthquake in Haiti dealeo.

I have refrained from mentioning Haiti because it seemed hard to me to write about Haiti on a blog about weddings and pretties. I was afraid my post about Haiti would be my last. How does one continue after that? It is like when they take up prayer requests in Sunday School. You have your hand raised to ask everyone to pray for good grades on your MCATs and then Sarah tells the Sunday School her mother is now dying of Stage Four breast cancer and asks for prayers with tears in her eyes. You surreptitiously put your hand down and hope no one notices. You get my point.

But I have found a way to consign the two: shopping for Haiti!

Smock is giving away 100% of their sales on all their products (except custom orders) to Haiti. My budget cannot afford it but I am so tempted to get these as thank yous. I might just do it anyway just for kicks and giggles.

And Ajalon Letterpress also sent me a nice little note to tell me they will also donate 100% of their letterpress sample sales to Doctors Without Borders

What are you doing to help Haiti? I think it is good to take a moment to remember how ridiculously lucky we are to worry about too many guests (that is my biggest worry), or not having the perfect dress, or crying in Nordstorms when you don’t get the perfect shoe* when there are so many other bigger things out there going on. My thoughts and prayers going out to the people of Haiti. Amen.

 

* If you know what I am talking about, I am so sorry, I could not help myself. I am snarky these days. I need more chocolate. If you don’t know what I am talking about, that is very very good. Seriously, not that big a deal.

Pictures credited to Smock and Ajalon

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2010 6:04 am

    What a good idea, sending some love to Haiti and getting some amazing stationery. I think Smock is one of the first companies I’ve heard of to give 100% of their profits, which is impressive.

    As far as we go, our photographer is giving mini-photo sessions with all the proceeds going to Haiti. Although we’ve already done our engagement photos, she’s giving a great deal and we’ll get a full disc of photos after all is said and done. It’s tough to find a reputable way to donate money, so I like knowing our money is actually going to help.

    • Jesselyn permalink*
      January 21, 2010 5:41 pm

      I totally agree. I usually only feature companies here that donate 100% of their profits to causes. I am not fond of companies that just donate like 5%. It’s like, “Here, we are thinking of you. Bye”

  2. January 21, 2010 6:25 am

    I was at the supermarket and no one would give the clerk money for Haiti. I wanted to shove those people buying expensive, organic goods.

    Here is the thing, I kind of hate these efforts, because my BFF from high school is Haitain and the country needed help when we were students. And in a month, everyone will go back to ignoring Haiti. Soooo. My point is, shouldn’t we always care? But we dont. Me neither.

  3. January 21, 2010 7:56 am

    the whole situation make my throat swell shut. i makes me sad..nervous..depressed. but i don’t really know how to even talk about it.

    i don’t feel that i am ignoring it…it’s just too big for me to discuss. i wonder why i feel that way.

  4. January 21, 2010 9:04 am

    i absolutely agree…where do you even begin to discuss the tragedy that has stricken haiti? it is so sad to think about, but it is a must. i have already donated a couple of times via the red cross “haiti” to 90999 and hope to do some shopping on etsy’s “shop for haiti”

    thanks for the mentioning the invites i will for sure look into them! and thanks for the wedding tip!!

Leave a Reply

