Skip to content

The Final Fitting

January 22, 2010

I want you ladies to be appropriately surprised when I post pictures of me and my dress and my veil. . . so this is all you are going to get.

As an ex-ballerina, tulle makes me happy.

Here is my veil progression:

I am convinced I didn’t want a veil. So archaic. I am a bride. A woman. Not a present. Besides, veil = money = bad for the budget

Went to fancy-smancy bridal salon and they threw a veil on me and for the first time in this entire flipping process, I feel like a bride.

Nearly fainted in fancy-smancy salon at the price: $550. Seriously. It is tulle. I can get Loubies for that kind of money (discounted Loubies but Loubies nevertheless). I hold myself together. These crazy bridal ladies will never respect me if I fainted in the store. Must act like I see $500 pieces of tulle all the time.

Set out off on serious trip to not spent $550 on tulle. Briefly consider making a veil myself and immediately nix the idea. That would require a lot more vodka than I have on hand.

I was going to have my veil made off etsy but when my seamstress mentioned she made veils too I jumped at the chance. I didn’t want anything fancy. No lacy do-dads. No beaded what-chu-ma-call-its. I am a bride for Heaven’s sakes not a Christmas tree (sometimes I feel like one).

Ta-dah! A simple drop veil, with an angel wing cut. I will do a write up on the veil vocab all brides need to know to not end up like me:

Me: So I would love it you made my veil

Seamstress: Awesome. What were you thinking of? 56 inches? Cathedral? Ballet?

Me: Um. . . English? Please?

Ladies, my grand total for my alterations and veil piece? $100. $50 for alterations and $50 for the veil. Shoestring Bride strikes again.

 

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2010 8:12 am

    That’s an amazing price! And I still want to be a ballerina when I grow up…and I’m 24. Tulle does it for me too. Today to work I’m wearing a red mesh peasant skirt with a pink mesh underlay that makes me feel like a ballerina (I got it in the Old Navy kid’s section before Christmas for $15!).

  2. January 22, 2010 9:38 am

    you comment on my Chaco’s cracked me up. i get that response a lot from the ladies in my life – they aren’t the prettiest lil things…but they make my feet freaking SING.
    🙂

  3. January 22, 2010 9:44 am

    oh. and btw…i had the same experience with veil. thought they were lame-o…didn’t want one…make fun of ’em a lil bit. then. i had to have one. thank god for Etsy.
    🙂
    i got mine in the mail this morning…too perfect. i think i’ll look like a bride after all.

  4. January 22, 2010 11:17 am

    you tease you tease!

  5. Jesselyn permalink*
    January 22, 2010 2:11 pm

    @ Stacy Marie, a woman after my own heart. I am, as I type, wearing a pair of Old Navy fleece pants bought from the kids department.
    @ Jes, thank God, I was hoping not to offend. But I really did not want to be untruthful. I am like this in real life too. This is why no one wants to shop with me. Ever.
    @Jasper, lol, I love being bad.

  6. January 22, 2010 2:49 pm

    Yeah, I wasn’t so good at acting like I saw a $500 piece of tulle everyday when I first went to a bridal shop… I’m pretty sure my jaw dropped.
    I also thought about making one myself and then realized it would be waaaaay too much stress so I turned to my best friend in my time of need… Etsy. All together, with shipping, my veil cost $35. Thank God.

  7. January 22, 2010 3:12 pm

    ooohhh…looks gorgeous so far! I had absolutely no idea how much veils cost! My seamstress sold me one similar to the one in your picture for $20! I must have gotten a steal!

  8. January 22, 2010 9:32 pm

    Well done! You did a good job getting a more inexpensive veil, rather than that $550 one. I had also been thinking whether to wear a veil or not. Like you said, veil=money=bad for the budget (nice one). And I had been thinking, what’s the use of a veil anyway, it’s just for decoration, and might be another nuisance to bother fixing, and there are many brides who have looked good even without veils. But, yeah, I also agree, a veil helps a bride look more like a bride. So, I don’t know, as of now, I’m still thinking 95% I won’t wear a veil, 5% I might be tempted to give in and get a veil. 😀

  9. January 22, 2010 10:57 pm

    Booyah!

    Cannot wait to see the final product!! I am soo excited for you!

  10. Jesselyn permalink*
    January 23, 2010 2:54 am

    @ ruthyg, miss fancy pants, – and here I thought I was doing good. What the heck? You ladies are putting me to shame. The best for a drop veil I found on Etsy was $145! What have I been doing wrong?

    @ Sophia – seriously, go to a bridal store that has your dress and try the dress on with a veil. That was what did it for me. I have tried on veils before and thought “eh” but on with the dress… I swear angels were singing. Ok, mild exaggeration. But I shouldn’t be encouraging more spending. Bad Shoestring Bride.

    @ Anna – thanks hun! I am beyond excited. I am broke. 😛

  11. January 23, 2010 5:52 pm

    That is awesome. I am back and forth on the veil as well.

Leave a Reply

