Skip to content

Rehearsal Dinner On The Cheap

January 26, 2010

Is it possible? I don’t know but I sure intent to find out.

I am sticking to my original idea of having a barbeque dinner (this is where I would put a link to my original post but I am seriously too lazy to look for it right now. Just take my word for it). Here is the thing. Etiquette and Emily Post dictates that I should invite not just the wedding party and their dates but also everyone who comes in from out of town. That would make it, oh I don’t know, everyone on the guest list. For serious, for the Shoestring Bride, in case you did not already guess, that is a serious blow to the budget.

Shoestring Boy’s family will not be helping us with the rehearsal dinner. So we are on our own. No daddy’s money this time. Mommy offered (yeah, she is crazy but she is sweet. Sometimes). So what to?

So here is what we are contemplating:

Option A: Take out a bank loan and pay for the rehearsal dinner.

Um. We see the problem with this right? Right. Moving on.

Option B: Only pay for the people in the wedding

Emily Post is turning over in her grave as I type. Not that I really care but still. I have family coming in from Australia who have paid thousands and thousands of dollars to be here. What do I say to them? “Hey, thank you for coming over here halfway around the world and all. But we have to do the rehearsal dinner and we cannot really pay for you to come so could you, like, bum around for a night by yourself? Without a car. In a strange place. I’ll see you tomorrow!”

Option C: Only pay for people in the wedding and invite everyone else from out of town to a cocktail hour that they pay themselves.

How would you even begin with something like this? How would you even word the invitation? “Please come to a cocktail hour celebrating the wedding of The Shoestring Boy and Bride. It is at The Pourhouse at 9pm. Oh, and bring money for your own drinks!” I think Emily Post is spinning so hard in her grave right now she might throw the Earth off its’ orbit.

Oi. What to do?

Either way, I am buttering up the manager at Smoke and we are having a meeting on Friday evening. I mean, if I am going to open up my own wedding planning business (I will only work with sane women) I have to work on things like this right? You will be updated.

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 3:31 pm

    We kinda rolled around with the same situation. We have decided to invited everyone that will be traveling to the wedding to the “welcome/rehearsal” dinner the night before. In order to host such a thing, we ended up going the BBQ route also! We found a RAD catering company that would deliver the goods to a local park – but because of weather we will be having it in their restaurant. WAY fat affordable…it’s like $8 per person – and even though it makes me feel super poor providing two dinners to all of our guests two nights in a row, it will rock out. I’m just so thankful that these loved ones will be traveling such a distance, paying hotel expenses, etc. to share our day with us. You know?

    I just felt that even if it takes us over budget a couple hundred bucks – it feels like the right thing to do, and it will be awesome.

  2. January 26, 2010 8:49 pm

    I think you can do the cocktail thing. You can be like “Please join us for a welcome to town cocktails at TK bar!” People get that it’s pay your own way. Also, most countries don’t have rehearsal dinners, so they won’t be expecting one.

  3. January 27, 2010 2:24 am

    I think option C is perfect. Maybe lay on a few nibbles?

  4. January 27, 2010 10:59 am

    make it simple and affordable.. see how our family did a pizza and pasta dinner.. simple, casual and so fun and didn’t blow a budget: http://www.celebrationideasonline.com/Planning-a-wedding.html Also we made the table decorations ourself and used them as the seating char.

Leave a Reply

