Skip to content

The Shoestring Bride DIYs Again

January 29, 2010
tags:
by

Anyone who has been around my blog for long knows that DIY and I are not friends. Seriously. The most DIY thing I have ever done during this wedding was wrap matchbooks. Come on, my dog could do that. Ok, maybe not but only because he lacks opposing thumbs but if he did have thumbs I bet he would kick my butt.

I had the brilliant idea of giving ribbon fascinators and corsages to the guests at the wedding. It was just an idea until I found a bunch of small brooches at a vintage store for cheap. I didn’t even ask for a discount they just gave it to me. So I guess it is a sign.

So I hopped on to the Martha Stewart Weddings website (I hate that woman she makes me feel like an underachiever):

And found this so I went ahead and did it. And came up with this:

Shoestring Bride: Super FAIL.

I got lucky the second time and came up with this:

Not too bad, eh? I just made it smaller and pinned the brooch in the center to mask the crazy knot in the middle. Now all I need to do is superglue a pin to the back or an alligator clip. Maybe my new business idea would be to sell these darlings on Etsy. Aren’t you proud of me? Here is another vanity photo. I like to pretend I am artsy like that.

That is my RSVP cards coming back. The count is 51 guests now.

“Jesselyn, weren’t you suppose to have a 50 person wedding?”

Yes. Suppose is the correct word. Yay for small-want-to-be-big weddings.

*Sigh*

 

Pictures credited to Martha Stewart Weddings and The Shoestring Bride

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 10:15 am

    very cute!! nice job. I’m the same with DIY…I lack the creative, artistic genes.
    BTW…I saw on your envelope you live in Fort Worth…I went to TCU…I miss that city!

  2. bluebutterfly10 permalink
    January 29, 2010 3:30 pm

    how cute!! I love that you posted your flop! every DIYer has at least one flop per project

  3. January 29, 2010 10:34 pm

    wait, rsvp cards already? when is your wedding? in my world we all wed on the same day!

  4. January 30, 2010 4:32 am

    Congratulations on your DIY project! 😀 You do have some artistic talents, maybe just not the same as other DIY brides, but then, everyone’s different. And yeah, even the most artistic DIY bride gets some “super-fail” too. Some things do take practice.

  5. January 30, 2010 2:28 pm

    Its prettier than most of the things I’ve come across on Etsy. Very good job.

Leave a Reply

