Skip to content

T-8 Days – Barbeque and the World is Right Again

February 12, 2010

As of 10 days ago, we still had no place for our rehearsal dinner. As you can imagine. This induces quite a bit of panic. We visited possibly every barbeque joint in Dallas (which is quite a lot of barbeque). Thank God I love barbeque. Unfortunately, finding:

(a) a place to have a party on a Friday night is a little hard – So, I knew this was going to be somewhat difficult. I use to event plan, no one wants to give up restaurant space to cater.

(b) Then we found an awesome place only it was going to cost $25 per person. Sigh.

(c) Found a lot of amazing places to cater… but my while my apartment is super cute (if I do say so myself), I don’t think I can fit 30 people into my apartment. Even if I stuff people into my bedroom which would be really awkward. Where on Earth do I stuff people? We then are back to problem (a). Bother.

Then, I found Sonny Bryan. For $20 I get a party room, appetizers like dill and dip and rolls (rolls! Yum), 3 meats and 3 veggies – Cory and I picked brisket, pulled pork, turkey (for Missa who does not eat red meat), coleslaw (for me), mash potatoes and mac n’ cheese (Cory and I’s thing. Believe or not we are serving mac n’ cheese for our wedding too. I think we have an addiction), peach cobbler for dessert, and soda and tea forever and ever amen. Oh and that also already includes gratuity and taxes. Pretty darn good, eh?

But they already had a soft reservation so they had to get back to me. Argh!

*jumps up and down and throws a tantrum*

They called me back today. Bingo, the other person canceled.

*happy dance*

One last freaking thing to do. And my sanity is (slowly) coming back.

Lesson to know: might be a good idea to make sure you know what is going on for your rehearsal dinner earlier than 10 days before. Just saying. Do not make my mistake ladies. Salt and pepper: good on food. Not so good on hair. Unless you know, you are George Clooney.

ย 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2010 9:14 pm

    awesomeness.

    we are having our welcome dinner at a BBQ joint too. It’s a total dive – which makes it EVEN more badass…in our opinion. Bring on that yummmmy pulled pork and mac n’ cheese.

    • Jesselyn permalink*
      February 13, 2010 12:31 am

      Good job getting your rehearsal dinner together earlier than 10 days before ๐Ÿ˜‰ Very proud of you

  2. February 12, 2010 9:47 pm

    We LOVE sonny bryan’s! We just ate their last week ๐Ÿ™‚ Their pulled pork and brisket are great!! No ribs though?? ๐Ÿ™‚ kinda messy for wedding food I guess.

Leave a Reply

