Skip to content

Good Enough

February 18, 2010
by

When I first got acquainted with the world of wedding blogs, I read a post by a blogger (that for I cannot remember for the life of me who) about how she was starting to allow her wedding to be “good enough”. I understand now. When I first started this wedding, I had the very best intentions. My wedding was/ is going to be fabulous. Style Me Pretty’s Abby is going to beg to feature my wedding. There is going to be all these cool thoughtful details. My invitations were going to be the stuff that people will frame. And I am going to do all these awesome things on a budget.

I made all these promises to myself: I was going to not have people I didn’t know at my wedding, my wedding was going to be great family reunion, etc. If you are a frequent reader of my blog you know how well I’ve fared (if you are a newbie, let’s just say I didn’t fare well. At all).

Along the way, things have taken a life of its own so to speak. I was hunting down the perfect bracelet. Well, less than two days to go: no bracelet. I asked mom if I could borrow the diamond tennis bracelet Dad gave her for their 25th wedding anniversary. I am not particularly heartbroken either. Sure, there are people who are going to be part of our wedding that we did not anticipate, not everything is what I had planned for it to be, in fact, for most of it, I have sort of settled for “good enough”.

Now, I know no one is going to make a big deal out of my matchboxes that I wrapped with Japanese cotton paper. Or the fact that I customed my paper goods. No one is going to realize that the bracelet I am wearing is not the original pearl confection I imagined but rather a borrowed bracelet. In fact, I am quite prepared for them to think it a little trinklet I picked up from Sam Moon. Honestly, I am not upset as I thought I was going to be. I am not entirely sure if this is apathy setting in. My newly acquired laissez faire attitude due to maturity or an act of giving up. In all honesty, it is probably a little of both.

Frankly though, if it is good enough for me, it is just going to be good enough for everyone else which is great for my sanity. As my father says “Don’t try and rule the world. Just try for one country”. If I can get my house clean in time for the folks to come by, I’ll be happy with that.

Anyone else thinking about “good enough”?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2010 5:55 am

    Forget thinking about it, I’ve embraced “good enough” like it’s my own child. I’d go totally nuts if I panicked over every detail, and I’m pretty sure the Mr. would want to kick me in the face if he’d had to listen to me in my search to achieve perfection. As much as my personality pulls me toward perfecting everything, I just don’t have the time, energy or motivation to care that much. Haha, that sounds awful. But it’s the truth.

  2. bluebutterfly10 permalink
    February 18, 2010 11:16 am

    *Raises hand!
    I had this vision of how I would mount my Save the Date Magnets..they would be pretty and fancied up and wouldn’t look handmade…however, time is of the essence and I NEED to accept them as the are…I can’t keep making changes or they will never be sent out in time. I am done thinking they can be better (even though I know it to be true!) and am letting them go as they are. I still have the invitations to think about and I plan to spend more time planning these than I did with the save the dates.

  3. pobadmin permalink
    February 18, 2010 11:19 am

    Me too! I try to remember that no one else but me reads the wedding blogs, so they aren’t going to be missing anything anyway.

  4. February 18, 2010 11:32 am

    I am soooooooooo right there with you!

    2 days!! holla! 🙂 i’m so happy for us!

  5. February 18, 2010 6:15 pm

    Eh, at this point I’ll settle for “no one threw up on me and my groom was on time.”

    GOOD LUCK! It will be the shit.

  6. February 18, 2010 7:06 pm

    This made me smile. It’s really for the bloggers out there like YOU that keep me honest with myself – because it seems that everywhere I look weddings are “perfect.” It’s exhausting.

    I am already embracing the “good enough” mentality – and I’m 4 months out. I don’t see it as “giving up” – which is what some of my peeps have said. For example, I always thought I would wear yellow flats on my wedding day. Except, I’m sick of looking for them…and all the one’s I’ve found have hurt my feet. So I bought a pair of blue heels that were THE MOST COMFY HEELS EVER OHMYGOD and my friends/sisters were like, “don’t give up!! those yellow flats are out there!” and I don’t care if they are out there – I’m done with that. Similar situation with my dress. Similar situation with a photobooth (not happenin’…don’t care). Similar situation purchasing new jewelry (except, I like the stuff I bought at Dillards 6 years ago…and now I wanna wear that…..what?) And I could go on.

    I have some living to do…unrelated to wedding obsessing, right?

  7. February 19, 2010 8:49 am

    Yes a thousands times!

    I think I may need you around in November!

    Please don’t disappear!

    I am and will be thinking of you! Kiss kiss kiss!

  8. February 19, 2010 12:37 pm

    Haha, I kept searching for the perfect bracelet too but I ended up bracelet-less and it was still fine. I hit that good-enough point shortly before the wedding, and by the end I was glad to have survived, enjoyed, and lived in the moment for the wedding, even with its lack of cupcake toppers and cutting of the cupcake/feeding each other moment, the never found perfect bracelet, my long-distance MOH, and the programs that were not tied with ribbon (nor were they even stapled together!)

    And it was all okay. Except I did miss my MOH like crazy.

  9. February 19, 2010 9:48 pm

    Good luck with your wedding!!

  10. February 28, 2010 10:17 pm

    Oh I feel you on this post!

    P.s. Thanks for stopping by my blog and for the comment! I’ve added you to my blogroll.

Leave a Reply

