Skip to content

You Never Can Sleep (The Night Before)

February 23, 2010

 

 

Cory and I spent the night together before our wedding.

Heaven’s we would be legally married for 6 months by the time the Big White Day comes around. Honestly, I have no idea who else I would love to have with me before the big day.

I was a good girl and went to bed early.

I wanted to be rested.

My mother kindly reminded me that the pre-wedding stress was making me look haggard. Thank you, mother. Who else can I depend on to make sure I know I look like shit when I do?

I woke up at 4 am in realization that I left my feathered fascinator at the post office. No! No! No!

I obsessed for weeks (and as I recall several blog posts) over the perfect fascinator and I leave it at the post office.

Genius.

I cannot go back to sleep. Now all I am thinking is “I am screwed! My wedding is a disaster!”

This sucks. I twiddled my thumbs. I went downstairs. Maybe the front desk knows somewhere I could get some hot chocolate. Maybe a joint. I am kidding. Maybe.

“Room service” she tells me. I look up room service. Five dollars? Five dollars for hot chocolate? I think not.

“Well, when I get it the only thing that does any good is to jump in a cab and go to Tiffany’s. Calms me down right away. The quietness and the proud look of it; nothing very bad could happen to you there. If I could find a real-life place that’d make me feel like Tiffany’s, then – then I’d buy some furniture and give the cat a name!” – Holly Golightly in Breakfast at Tiffany’s

I always resonated with Breakfast at Tiffany’s Holly Golightly. Miss Golightly had Tiffany’s. I had, well, Barnes and Noble. When I got upset, I would pack my purse with Lifesavers and head over to Barnes and Noble where one can get a cup of Starbuck’s Chai Latte and sit and read. There is something quite comforting about a store with books. Something about the endless possibilities of places you can go and getting lost in the shelves of books. I am half convinced, like Holly Golightly that nothing horrible can ever happen to me at a bookstore.

However, at four in the morning, the number of bookstores that are open at that hour becomes severely limited. Instead, I did the next best thing.

*poke, poke, poke*

“Cory! Cory! Coh-Reee! Wake up!”

“Mm-grhup?”

“Wakey, honey!”

“What? Huh? What’s going on?”

“I can’t sleep. Keep me company please!”

(I would like to point out I am a huge baby.)

“What? Are you serious?”

“Misery loves company, honey. Please cuddle me till I sleep”

“Urgh. Right now, company doesn’t much love you back”

My lover did cuddle me and waited till I fell back asleep. 30 minutes later…

“Urgh. Baby, now I can’t sleep” Cory moans.

“Shush, dear. I am sleeping”

Who else will let you wake them up because you can’t sleep?

 I found a place, a person, like a Tiffany’s or a bookstore. Isn’t it wonderful when you do?

 

On a side note, none of my bridesmaids got any sleep either! Cheech woke up at one, then at three, again at five and said, “F- it. I am just staying up now”. The rest of them just laid in their beds staring at the ceiling wondering if anyone else was having trouble sleeping.

So, Shoestring Bride Tip: Take a mild natural sleeping pill (you don’t want a hangover) so you get well rested and don’t spend the night before waking whoever is sleeping with you to keep you company. But I am sure you would never do that because you ladies are much sweeter than me.

 

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2010 10:20 pm

    Now that could be the sweetest thing I have ever heard!

  2. February 24, 2010 2:50 am

    Teeehehe I do the same thing.

    The best is when we watch a scary movie and I make him get up and walk me to the bathroom in the middle of the night because I’m afraid ghosts will get me.

  3. February 24, 2010 8:23 am

    That’s so cute! I’m pretty sure I do the same thing every night… the poor Mr. And that’s why I have no idea what I’m going to do on the wedding night because we’re spending it apart. Like, 40 minutes drive apart. I definitely won’t get any sleep that night, sleeping pill or no.

  4. February 25, 2010 10:02 am

    Aw… 🙂 The day of our wedding I realized I could not find the garter I had bought 10 years before in Belgium, and had saved in case I ever got married someday. I had accidentally left it at my then-fiancé’s apartment and not brought it to the hotel. 😦 But we went on, and it all happened without the garter. Nobody except me (and my bridemaids and mom, whom I told) noticed. Congrats on your marriage and I hope you are feeling better! And I look forward to hearing more about your Visa journey as things progress…

  5. Jesselyn permalink*
    February 25, 2010 2:27 pm

    @AAtW – oh heavens, I am waiting and waiting and waiting for an approval to come back about my I-130. This waiting takes forever!

  6. February 28, 2010 10:23 pm

    Love it. Your recaps are AWESOME

Trackbacks

  1. Dropping The Ball « Bride On A Shoestring

Leave a Reply

