Skip to content

What We Did Not Do

February 24, 2010
tags:
by

A post dedicated to things we didn’t do and no one ever noticed

(or else they were polite enough to not mention it)

 

. We did not practice our dance.

. Dad and I did not practice our dance either

. We did not take artsy shots of my dress (It looks much better on me than on a hanger. Trust me)

. I did not have a playlist for my DJ

. We did not have anything other than wine, beer, water and soda (with a special request for Dr. Pepper)

. We had no flowers at our wedding except for the bouquets and bouts

. We never did sit down at our sweetheart table

. We only took 15 minutes of pictures. I have full intentions of having portraits done after. I rather spend time with my guest

. We did not have the polariod guestbook I wanted

. We did not have the YMCA or the Electric Slide on

. I never did even start on my wedding programs. No one missed them.

. We forgot to pass out the favors. Some where out there are 50 lonely chopsticks symbolizing our good luck in a storage unit.

. I never did get a wedding band. I would like to be materialistic and prod/ guilt Cory into buying one for me for our one year legal anniversary coming up in 6 months (the miracles of two weddings: double presents) but we are ridiculously broke after this wedding and I think any mention of “buy” and “money” in the same sentence (or individual sentences) might set the man off sobbing.

 . I never did get peonies in my bouquet

. I did not wear a vintage fur

. No pretty cover ups or wedding cardigans either (actually, you can’t tell from the picture but sweat is pouring quite unattractively down my face from romping around on the dance floor)

 

 Somehow though, I ended up with a wonderful man. Who loves me enough to take a looksie to see if I need to go to the doctor, stay up with me when I cannot sleep, and not ask for sex on our wedding night. Who needs flowers?

 

Yes, your wedding will live forever on Facebook which is where I got this tidbit from. Ignore the weird face I am making and instead concentrate on how fabulously happy everyone looks in that picture. Weird. I didn’t have handmade favors or a D-I-Y photobook and people still managed to have fun. Who knew?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2010 11:27 am

    Yay for fun sweat!

  2. February 24, 2010 12:07 pm

    It is soo true that guests will not notice how much you slaved over something (or the lack of something not being there). You totally need to tell SMP what’s up and send them a letter. So they stop stressing out so many brides who feel they need to have a fully decorated kids table, and amazing out of town bags, and a bunch of other crazy wedding details.

  3. February 24, 2010 2:19 pm

    Brilliant. I feel I may need reminded of this nearer to our wedding… I always end up obsessing over the little details so good to know that people don’t notice when they’re not there!

  4. February 24, 2010 7:15 pm

    Awwwww 😉 Makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside

  5. February 24, 2010 7:31 pm

    I am SO happy for you. And yay for reaffirmation.

  6. February 24, 2010 11:46 pm

    it sounds perfect to me. you’ve got your priorities straight. at the end of the day, you’re dancing and having a good time and so are the guests…and you’re with the person you love.

  7. February 25, 2010 6:57 pm

    I swear you and I had very similar weddings…my list is almost identical!

  8. February 25, 2010 10:39 pm

    we didn’t do it on our legal wedding night and i can imagine being too exhausted to want to bother on our wedding night as well. I’m sure i’ll be drunk, let the kids fall asleep where they will, and end up embarrassing myself around the fire into the late late night…..
    sounds perfect.

  9. February 28, 2010 10:25 pm

    Love your face in that photo.

    You have such a good attitude about this stuff. I am still reeling over a few niggly things two months later. Need to take a leaf out of your book.

    P.s. You should totally send all your readers the chopstix! They’d appreciate them.

Leave a Reply

