Skip to content

Pretty Takes Work

March 2, 2010

Bleery eyed still with the lack of sleep, I tracked my happy behind to POSH nail salon to get my nails done. I wasn’t planning on getting a mani-pedi but I had chipped my nail the night before and I’ll be darn if I let myself get married with a chipped nail. Now, belatedly I realize this is going to make me sound like a fluff-brained bunny of a girl but seriously I never chip my nails. I was beginning to wonder what this chipped nail was going to do to the esthetics of my wedding. I mean, I didn’t want to look back on my pictures at my “bony unpolish finger” (thank you Elle Woods!) and wince.

For those wondering, the freaking mani-pedi cost me $50 tip included for which I nearly had a coronary but I steeled myself and sucked it up. These are the sacrifices one makes for a beautiful wedding. As they slicked Essie’s Wicked onto my nails I began to start relaxing. Maybe this was a good (unfortunately, expensive) idea after all even as I realized Asians, whether or not they worked at snazzy posh nail salons with chandeliers or acetone smelling shops with China Glaze in their inventory, are all the same.

“If you are getting married, you should get french tips” said the man doing my toe nails. I shifted against the chair to make sure the magical massaging chair got all the tough knots.

“No thank you” I smiled. No real reason to get on my “why-I-don’t-get-fake-nails” soap box to a man who probably does not care.

“Maybe a parrafin dip?” said the lady doing my fingernails, “makes your hands softer”.

“I think my fiance knows what my hands feel like and still wants to marry me. We are good” I quipped.

She was persistent, “Soft hands for wedding is good”.

I decided to be frank, “I don’t have the money”. Seriously, I am already spending $50 more than absolutely neccessary.

“It’s only $5 extra” she snapped back. Oh my word, do these people ever stop? As it is, I already get prodded into getting my Fu Manchus waxed by my usual Vietnamese nail lady when I go in.

“You need to take mustache away” she says looking at me sternly and I always give in. I am not entirely sure if it is because I don’t want to walk around with apparently the equavalent of a circus’ bearded lady growth on my upper lip or because I never can say no to older Asian women who bully me into doing stuff.

“No thanks,” I say weakly, “No time”. Something about Asian ladies wanting me to doing things that make me oddly uncomfortable. Maybe because they remind me of my mother.

I looked at my watch when I was done and freaked. I was 15 minutes late to my hair appointment. Shit! Shit! Shit! So much for a relaxing nail appointment. Thank God the hair salon was within a minute driving distance of the nail place. Not even waiting for my nails to dry (or taking the cotton out from between my toes), I hopped into my car and drove across the street and waddled in, styrofoam slippers and all to get my hair done. I need not have worried. Cheech was already there feeling rather fine I suppose drinking mimosas.

My turn. I sit forever under the hair dryer thingy. The hair dryer is rather . . . loud. Which provided a sort of solace really in the white noise of the loud humming . I settled down and read Vogue. Oddly enough about a woman who is tempted to cheat on her husband and her husband taking her back. I wonder if the universe is trying to tell me something. No matter, I have not the time. I have to hurry. If the universe is trying to tell me I am going to cheat on my husband via a Vogue article, it is going to have to catch me at a better time. I already spent the better half my my day trying to look pretty for this once in a life time occasion after which I probably will never look as lovely again.

At least, it was worth it.

 

 

As a testiment to the way you look affecting how you feel, I looked back on my pictures and was very thankful I spend a trillion hours attempting to look beautiful. I didn’t spend anytime at all trying to look decent for my Asian reception and was actually shocked to see how tired I look. Oh my word, my mother was right! I do look like shit.

 

 Picture number one and number two by me taken by Cheech and the last picture taken by the very fabulous Tracy Nanthavongsa

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 4:55 pm

    Oh, you’re so pretty!! Such a happy photo. Can’t wait to see the rest!

  2. March 2, 2010 6:45 pm

    You looked gorgeous!! Love the bright lips!

  3. barbride permalink
    March 2, 2010 6:48 pm

    1) You looked gorgeous!!!!!!
    2) The line about your Fu Manchu just cracked me up. I should start calling it that. Sounds so much nicer than lady mustache. haha.

  4. March 2, 2010 6:54 pm

    Totally worth it! That last photo is so beautiful.

  5. March 2, 2010 8:01 pm

    hot damn girl!! love that beautiful lipstick you rocked!!! I’m glad you wrote about this actually – I’ve been so hesitant to sign up for professional help on my wedding day because of the money. But…I should probably give it a go…a little pampering (and Vogue time) could be a nice chillax way to start the day. Plus…if these miracles workers can make me look like my most beautiful self, I would be very happy.

  6. March 2, 2010 9:51 pm

    You look like a model. Well done.

  7. March 3, 2010 4:58 am

    And how lovely you look.

  8. bluebutterfly10 permalink
    March 3, 2010 1:15 pm

    absolutely worth it…you looked stunning!! I can’t wait to see more pics of your bridal beauty 🙂

  9. March 3, 2010 5:17 pm

    you are stunning!!! asian women are so pushy huh?

    • Jesselyn permalink*
      March 3, 2010 5:45 pm

      Totally. You should know, Ruthy! 😉

Leave a Reply

