Skip to content

Why Today Rocks My Face Off

March 8, 2010

I got my freaking Notice of Approval from Uncle Sam. Oh yeah! *Does a happy dance*

I was so excited I didn’t even wait to get into the car before ripping open the envelope that said it was from the Dept of Immigration while simultaneously holding my breath hoping I wasn’t about to burst out sobbing hysterically in public because I just got a rejection letter. Success! We have been approved! I can now apply for Permenant Residency and a work permit. I am dying to get out of limbo.

I know months from now, you are going to hear me whining about my job and the “joys” of working in a box and no more siestas whenever I want. However, right here, right now, I just want to be a productive member of society. I want to wake up and go to a job I love. I want to tell Cory about the antics of my coworkers. I want to bitch about my boss. I want to stress over deadlines.

I am praying that:

a. A work permit and my Adjustment of Status gets approved.

b. I get a job I love. That I want to go to.

c. I make lots of money and live happily ever after amen.

Kidding about c. unless it happens. But seriously. My dad and Cory and… well, everyone I know, gives me a lot of grief about my wishful thinking. How dare I dream of finding a job I love when there are people out there who need a job, period. Well, I dream because I can. Because right now, it is the only thing I can do. What do you dream about when the days of tulle and feathers and weddings are gone?

 

(I am not wishful thinking am I? Now world domination. That’s wishful thinking. Should I take this part down in case Uncle Sam googles me and doesn’t think I am kidding about world domination?)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2010 8:40 pm

    Congrats!

  2. March 8, 2010 9:21 pm

    Oh yay, that is so exciting!

    The Groomie and I went through the same thing. You don’t even realise how much you are worrying about it until you don’t have to worry anymore!

    Enjoy the blissfulness of knowing 😉

    PS- Surely world domination isn’t too far out of your grasp?

  3. barbride permalink
    March 8, 2010 11:51 pm

    Yay, Congrats!! That’s awesome news.

  4. March 9, 2010 7:40 am

    congrats for today (tommorrow you can take over the world!)

  5. March 9, 2010 9:25 am

    Congrats!!!!

  6. March 9, 2010 12:12 pm

    Whoop!

  7. March 9, 2010 9:05 pm

    Yay!!!

Leave a Reply

