Skip to content

NewbyWeds Part Trois

March 10, 2010

How the crap did you manage to pull off such a spectecular wedding on a budget?

“I used my friends a lot.

My friend is a magazine designer so he did my invitations. I bought the enclosures at Paper Source (northpark mall in dallas) and we put the invitations together ourselves.

I found the venue first and that helped limit how many people could come.

My friend has a cupcake company so she gave me a good price on the groomscupcakes.

No video or DJ, we made a playlist and had a friend be the DJ from Chris’ mac laptop. My mom borrowed a sound system from the local Baptist Association.

We ordered all of the flowers from Sam’s Club and my sister-in-law and friends made the bouquets, arrangements and centerpieces.

My friend/bridesmaid is really good at photography so she took my bridal portraits and the chapel let us take them there for free. My friend Jillian is a great photographer so I recruited her to take pictures.

I still gave them a monetary gift but it was MUCH cheaper than a professional. She edited the pictures and burned a CD for me and we are printing them and making an album ourselves (gives us more freedom for creativity too).

I incorporated more candles and less flowers at the reception. I ordered the candles online from a bulk candle warehouse type place.

 Also, freezedried rosepetals on sale online too.

So ya, we saved a lot of money but it still felt like a quality, classy wedding.”

Lots of cake and lots of dancing was how Liand describes the reception.

What would you change if you had to do it all over?

“Maybe if we had more money, I would have hired a planner. Hahaha! Maybe more photos. I would have hired a couple of photographers or maybe I would have hired a personal trainer for engagement period. That was stressful trying to look good for the wedding day. Yes. The personal trainer.”

[Author’s interjection: I happen to think she looks just dandy. But what do I know? I am just the wedding blogger]

What unexpected expenses should future brides watch out?

“Framing the bridal portraits was more expensive than I thought. You have to custom frame those things and it can get pricey. I probably would have waited until Hobby Lobby or Michaels had their half off framing sale.”

“It truly was a flawless event”

Vendor List:

Ceremony: Marty Leonard Chapel, Ft. Worth

Reception: Mabee Hall, Gladney Center for Adoption, Ft. Worth

Caterer: Tana at Travis Avenue Baptist Church

Coordinator: None. A team of me, mom, my sister-in-law Kelly, and brother Tito, my good friend and mentor Zoricelis Davila.

Photographer: Jillian Daniels

Bridal portraits: by Nataly Garcia

Florals: Bought online at Sam’s club

Cakes:
Wedding cake by Sublime Bakery (They will be featured on the Food Network in the summer at a cake challenge! It was kinda my dream to have a Food Network cake and it came true without me even knowing it!)

Cupcakes by Crystal Meeker of CupcakeFarms

Hair Stylist: This girl named Crista. Trained at Toni and Guy and she does housecalls to do people’s hair.

Dress: Alfred Angelo

Rings: Engagement ring was customed, her wedding band was from Ben Bridges, his wedding band was from James Avery

 

Pictures credited to Jillian Daniels. You can see more photos of this crazy fun wedding on her blog

A very special thank you to Liand and Chris Newby for letting me feature their very cute, very fun wedding. Doesn’t it look like something you wish you were invited to?

Congratulations to the Newbys and their fabulous Shoestring Wedding!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 6:12 am

    love love love her dress, and the cupcakes 🙂

  2. March 11, 2010 10:56 pm

    Such a cute wedding – and such a happy bride!

Leave a Reply

