Skip to content

First Dance

March 16, 2010

Now traditionally the first dance is significant because it is the first thing y’all do as husband and wife. And like all the other stuff of my wedding, I had big plans for our first dance. I was going to have a chereographed number worthy of Youtube. My dance will be the stuff of inspiration that brides would send to their dance instructors/friends/groom/mom and say “this is what our first dance should look like”, etc, etc, etc. Then the good enough bug bit me and I said to freak with it all, we are just going to have to wing it and do the traditional “swaying-in-place-because-neither-of-you-know-how-to-ballroom-dance-and-besides-you-picked-a-song-that-is-completely-sappy-and-lovely-but-no-good-to-dance-to”. Don’t look at me like that, you know exactly what I mean!

Now that I have gradu-made-it to the other side, I am convinced that all those beautiful romantic photos of couples swaying together with the bride on the groom’s shoulder, etc, is completely for show. No really! Picture it with me, y’all. Here you are, they announce you Mr and Mrs. blah-blah-blah and you both take the dance floor and you are cognizant of every pair of eyes (all 60 of them, which was suppose to be 50 but your parents kept inviting people).  The music comes on and your beloved takes you in his arms and then you realize that if you just stare lovingly in his eyes (while great for the camera) is just going to make you laugh hysterically and not stop. Seriously? Who dances with their hubby and just looks lovingly in their eyes for 5 minutes (or however the song lasts) knowing that everyone in the room is looking at you looking at him.

So what do you do? You really have two options: you look over his shoulder at all the guests looking at you (which is no good for the cameras and really would be quite weird) or you have mouth diarrhea like me and the first thing out of your mouth is “Oh my God, did you see what she is wearing?” I am sure there are those who get on the dance floor and the first words out of their mouths are “I am so glad we are married now” and other sweet things like that but honestly, you have been running around all day, your feet are starting to kill you slowly but surely, and this is the first real breath you have been able to take all freaking day so the first words out of your mouth is not “I am so glad we are married” it is “Oh my God I am so glad that is over”. And then maybe it’s “I am so glad we are finally married” while simultaneously thinking, “Wow, that went by really fast. I cannot believe I was worrying about the programs”

This produces horrible pictures. Really. All the pictures that come out are going to be you with your mouth open mid-word. Or you laughing rather unlady like. Or him with his mouth open. You get the idea (see photo above). So if you want super great pictures, tell the photographer you are going to pose romantically during the first 30 seconds of your dance and then you can go back to swaying in place and laughing about what so-and-so’s girlfriend wore, I mean does she have no taste?

 

Facebook photo – not professional.

Glad to be back y’all

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 8:36 pm

    Ugh.

    To avoid this, I have begged the guy

    1. to not do a dance

    2. not do an announcement before the dance

    3. dance to a hip hop song or salsa song or some other style of fun music

    So far, he has ignored all my requests. sigh.

    p.s. you love boooootiful in your pictures

  2. erintan permalink
    March 16, 2010 8:44 pm

    Glad to have you back dear.

    Congratulations dear! You both look gorgeous!

    And you look like you’re having the time of your life in the picture above – which is what you should look like after months and months of painful, tearful planning and being in the arms of the one you love. 😀

    Can you show us a picture of so-and-so’s girlfriend’s dress??

  3. March 16, 2010 11:58 pm

    Hahaha… You are SO right on!! I do think you look adorable in that picture, but you are completely right! We sorta “choreographed” our dance, but when the song came on, we just threw that all out and opted to just sway because 1. we were tired and 2. we were acutely aware that everyone is staring at us. This lead to many an awkward pictures of us dancing. Plus when Jon finally decides to spin me, his jacket button get stuck in my hair! So that finally moments of the song, was us trying to untangle my hair from his button… with everyone still staring at us! haha…

    and I TOTALLY want to see that girlfriend’s dress!

  4. March 17, 2010 11:05 am

    You look delicious. I will be giggling throughout. It just seems so scary and a little contrived. We don’t dance together usually…gah!

  5. March 22, 2010 2:55 pm

    your wedding looked amazing, congrats! I see a lot of ostrich feathers in the background which I LOVE. I know they can be pricy, did you find a good place to buy bulk? How many did you have?

    • Jesselyn permalink*
      March 22, 2010 11:19 pm

      I rented them! A local florist or such should have them at a decent price

  6. LibbyJames permalink
    March 23, 2010 5:00 am

    never thought to do that, great idea

Trackbacks

  1. Latest First dance news – Offbeat Bride | First dance songs that haven’t been done-to-death

Leave a Reply

