Skip to content

Ring Shots: A How To

March 20, 2010

A blogger will put a disclaimer at the end of the post. That’s silly. By that time, the reader would have already read through the entire post and before seeing the blogger note. So I have placed this right at the beginning. I am gonna warn you now, this post is snarky (but funny. I think). So you are thus warned, continue at your peril. Said blogger would also say she doesn’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings with her personal preference, different folks, different strokes and all that good jazz. I have deemed enough of apologizing already.  It’s my blog. My thoughts. Don’t like it? There are other blogs to read. In fact, there is a good list to your right. Cheers! 🙂

 

If there is anything that annoys me more than a wedding with too much money and not enough class is horrible ring shots.

Yah, yah, yah I get it. You just got the band and the proposal and the awesome guy. And for all that is good and kind in the world, you have only been waiting for this moment, like, forever. So you want to take a bajillion photos of your ring and post it up for the world to see because the world has not seen a gorgeous ring till they see yours and really, who are you to deprive them of that pleasure? So you take the requisite photo of the ring on your finger and send it to all your friends. Then, you decide this picture is fine for friends and family who will get to see it in all it’s divine glory in person but you cannot possibly post it up on the Interwebs manicure-less nails, hairy knuckles (“are my knuckles really that hairy?” you wonder) and all. So you decide to take some ring “glamour” shots.

First of all, I fail to see the point of ring glamour shots. Are you likely to forget what your ring looks like? No. Secondly, I am convinced more than half the female population taking those photographs take the worst pictures of their ring which does it no justice. So, that said, I taken it upon myself to put together a little “how to” in regards to ring photography because if they are going to be out there on the Interwebs they might as well be pretty, right?

1. For gosh darn sakes don’t put your ring in a basket of fruit, a rose, on a shoe, on your invitation, etc, etc, etc. For one thing it really distracts from the ring itself. You will end up having your audience wonder “Are those real Loubies? Can’t be, look at the size of that ring!” (people are judgy), or “what on Earth is that ring doing in a rose?”. I much prefer finger shots. At least that is where your ring is suppose to be.

2. That said, choose a less distracting background. I am not proposing your photos look like a catalog all white background and no personality. I am suggesting that you don’t pick something so cliche or busy. The viewer’s eye should first be drawn to the ring and then to the encompassing picture. I know your ring is like 6 carats but 6 carats will still get lost in those petals and pearls. Take my word for it.

3. Don’t use your flash, it will wash out the diamond and or blind you, depending on it’s size and clarity. Use natural light. In case natural light is not available, and it never is especially when you want it, use two study lamps and put them on either side of you. Then you get (a) a clearer picture of your ring (b) an even light source. Kindda. With a flash there is one source and that is no bueno for photos.

Lamp like so below, but preferable non-animated ones

4. This is purely personal preference (this whole post is but I digress), but if you have more than two rings (like two wedding bands and an engagement ring), don’t stack them “artistically”. It just looks like a Jenga tower of diamonds. And awkward. Or like toppled dominos. I have practiced this artistic stacking as I will now term it and have concluded there is no really “cool” way about it. They all just look weird. Recent research (other people’s ring photos) have also proved me correct.

The end.

What photography shots annoy you? (Personally the dress hanging shot also is overdone but oh well).

 

Picture credited to Jeza Photography: example of (I think) a great ring shot

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2010 8:55 pm

    when they put the bride’s veil over the couple…as if the air would have naturally places it there.

    we will not be doing that.

  2. March 20, 2010 9:28 pm

    I second the veil over the couple shot; it’s ridiculous.
    And while it’s not technically a photography shot, the thing I hate most about edited photos is spot coloring; usually everything is left black and white and the bouquet, or the couple, or the rings are left in color. Thankfully, our photographer agrees that it is a tool of the devil.

  3. March 20, 2010 10:17 pm

    I hate the ring shots. It is on your finger. Why the fuck do you need a picture of it?

  4. Nic permalink
    March 21, 2010 6:57 am

    I also think the “help, I’m trapped under a veil, I need to hold it off my face with my two hands above my head” is pretty funny. But the first question I asked my photographer? “What is your stance on the groom-dipping-bride-backwards-whilst-she-awkwardly-tries-to-lift-her-head-and-he-kisses-her-on-her-neck-like-some-sort-of-vampire shot?”

    • Jesselyn permalink*
      March 21, 2010 8:29 am

      this made me laugh because I have a picture exactly like that but truth was I was flapping my arms (don’t laugh I had a drop veil and it was funny to pretend to fly) and he told me to hold it and that’s kind of what happened. Made for a great picture though. I was glad I shaved.

  5. March 21, 2010 2:30 pm

    Not a fan of the ring shots or the hanging dress shots either. The ring goes on your finger, the dress goes on your body. Both look better when you wear them, so why take a picture of them otherwise?

    I’m also a bit puzzled by the latest fads in shoe photography, like “all of the bridesmaids stand in a line and hold their dresses up so their identical shoes show.” I like shoes as much as the next girl, but do you really need a shot of 5 pairs of dyed-to-match Nina heels?

  6. March 22, 2010 8:19 pm

    Some ring shots I really love. I was a bit gutted when all the uninspired shots our photographer took were blurry. There goes that idea. But I did take a photo myself to put in our album. I figure that someone in the future might be interested, I know I would be. I have no idea what my Grandparents rings looked like – and I wish I did.

    But I totally feel you on the dress hanging up shot. I’ve only ever seen two I like. Boring!

  7. March 23, 2010 10:03 am

    Yikes, for a girl with a blog slightly about her ring I am fearful. I did rather enjoy taking pretty shots when I was young and naive!

    We shall see what happens with the real photographs.

  8. March 23, 2010 12:59 pm

    I don’t care for ring shots. Every now and again I will see one I like. The dress hanging shot is so annoying! It has turned into a cliched picture along with the ring shot.

    I will never ever get tired of the first kiss shot. Love that one.

Leave a Reply

