Skip to content

The Wall Street Journal Called

April 20, 2010
tags:
by

I am dead serious. They wanted to ask my opinion on mass retailers selling wedding dresses based on a post I did on Ann Taylor way back when for this article. As you can see, they didn’t in fact quote me (which is such a shame because I had some awesome sound bites but whatever, their lost!) but I am just over the moon that they called and kind of, sort of, know I exist.

The journalist asked me a couple of questions regarding a “cheap wedding” which I felt very relevant to today’s penny pinching bride. Like, “Is there a stigma with a cheap wedding? Or wearing, say, an Ann Taylor wedding dress?”. I snorted (this is probably why I am not in the article. Wall Street Journal probably doesn’t quote snorting brides), “Of course”. I told her how I had quite the number aghasted female friends when I was contemplating wearing a David’s Bridal dress. One of my bridesmaids (bless her heart) wailed, “You can’t walk down the aisle in an off-the-rack dress!”.

Her next question was, “How do you deal with it?”. The answer to that is quite simple, really, I deal with it the way I deal with most other things. I own it. Truth it, if you are ashamed of your “cheap” wedding and your “cheap” dress then things become even more acutely “cheap” concious to everyone else. The difference, I explained, was like bald men. Everyone has someone they know that is balding. Bald men fall into two categories (for simplicities sake): the self-concious balder and the I-could-not-give-a-damn balder. I have a friend who is of the former kind. He is so self-concious of the fact that his hair line is receding in his twenties. He has Rogain bottles galore, he tries to  grow his hair out like length would make up for the hair he does not have. I also have another friend who started balding in his twenties. His solution? He shaved it all over. In other words, he owned it.

Similarly, if you are a Shoestring Bride, hold your head up high. There is nothing wrong with being a budget concious bride unless you deem it so. Perception is everything, my friends. Do not become your own worst enemy. Similarly, if you have the moo-lah for an over-the-top wedding, then be grateful for that fact not ashamed (doesn’t mean you get to rub it in everyone’s face either!). I wore a secondhand dress for half-off. That is pretty darn amazing if I do say so myself!

 

Max Wagner’s coverage of Joanna Goddard’s wedding. The bride is wearing a $500 J.Crew dress.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 10:32 am

    Seriously, you are wise.

  2. April 20, 2010 8:55 pm

    I actually have 2 wedding dresses (can’t decide which one to wear yet); both are J. Crew, one is Joanna’s (shown in your post). I paid $75 for each (at a sample sale). Brand new!

  3. April 28, 2010 3:40 am

    I completely agree– OWNING it 🙂

  4. April 30, 2010 12:35 am

    I’m proud to not be spending the equivalent of a down payment on a house for one day! 😉

Leave a Reply

