Skip to content

Simplicity: Wedding bands

April 28, 2010

I do not have a wedding band. I don’t really miss it. It just would have been one more thing we would have had to buy for the wedding. I am quite happy with my deco engagement ring serving as both. For now.

I notice around the blogsphere that simple thin gold or silver wedding bands have become quite the trend. Kind of organic and whimsical. Which I really love even with my perchance for really gaudy jewelry. I think mainly because I would probably wear it and not freak out about dinging it or having my dog ruin it when he sometimes pretend my hand is a chewtoy. Oh, and they are relatively affordable. A lot of women just think it is the chic-est thing. Allow me to show you a few

 

If you are wondering if they are all the same artisans they are not. They just all look the same. Kind of. There is really very little variation to be had when you are looking for a simple organic slender (a much better word than ‘skinny’) ring. So I say, it would probably be good a good idea to shop around in this area. If you are superficial like me (I know there are some of you out there…) you might want to consider having this as a day to day band and have something blingier for the big day.

My only issue with this trend is how bourgeoisie the whole thing feels. Do not get me wrong, in wedding bands and engagement rings, trend come and go just like in any other industry even if it is to symbolise something much deeper like your commitment to your man. However, I cannot help but feel this ring can only be worn by a certain type of woman within a certain type of socioeconomic class. Similar to the ripped up jeans sold at Abercrombie at exorbitant prices, they serve to show that they can spend money on looking less. I also wonder if the uprising of this ring trend is an indication of how wedding industry is reacting to the current state of the economy. Almost to say wearing anything flashy is in poor taste which might also explain the rise of the current barnyard, country chic wedding cropping up.

What do you think of a slender delicate wedding band?

 

Click on picture to their sources – not a sponsored post.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2010 6:08 am

    I got one. I loved it. It was so elegant. I dont really like rings. But I had to return it because it was so much smaller than my e-ring it looked weird. I still haven’t found a replacement.

  2. April 28, 2010 6:36 am

    I love what you said about these type of rings being bourgeois. I, too, very much like the way they look–but I have a nagging suspicion that I like it only because it’s been made hip by the blogosphere. Thin bands, rose gold, hammered metal. But I guess that’s how trends work? My wedding ring is surprisingly blingy (for me), and I plan to embrace that too! But ya know, if I had a beautiful Art Deco ring, I wouldn’t bother with another ring either. 🙂

  3. pobadmin permalink
    April 28, 2010 12:27 pm

    I considered this because I couldn’t find anything in my budget I liked. I don’t really agree with the bourgeois thing…maybe because I’m so cheap, it was kind of a necessity thing for me, you know. Like, “um, wow, a $200 budget for a wedding band gets me nothing at all that I want…maybe I’ll just go with a simple one and be done with it or until we can afford a blingier one.” But you really put some thought in to that! Maybe I just don’t see it because I’m the only one out of all my friends to surf the blogosphere? Anyway, really cool perspective…and that top ring is one I seriously considered! I ended up finding a super hot 1920’s ring for $180 so it worked out.

  4. April 28, 2010 4:13 pm

    I dunno. I’m LOVING this trend away from opulence.

    Lil confession, when I see young girls my age with big ass rings on their finger…I judge them out to be ridiculous frivolous materialistic women. (Which is wrong…I know…because I have several lovely girlfriends with ungodly huge rings.) But I judge them anyway.

    I think simple wedding bands are smart looking. I’m glad understated elegance is making somewhat of a comeback.

    Eh. To each their own. At least there are options for every taste.

  5. April 29, 2010 7:25 pm

    I really like the top one in gold, but that’s because I used to own a slender gold band I wore on my pinky and lost it a few years ago…bummer.

    My wedding band will not even be worn on my left hand–it’ll be on my right hand. Backwards, I know, and some people think it’s pointless but since I couldn’t find something to go with my e-ring without looking too thick for me I was planning to have no band at all. That’s until I came across the ring I did…which reminds me, maybe I should write about that tonight!

Leave a Reply

