Skip to content

Free Flowers

May 10, 2010

Since, I spent last week writing about how flowers are evil. Today is a “plants-are-not-that-evil” day. A friend emailed me about a website giving away free plants. The only thing you pay for is processing and shipping. Pretty awesome, huh? Everyone knows the Shoestring Brides favorite  word is free. Usually the next favorite free shipping but I guess since the plants are already free, paying for shipping is only fair.

The premise of the website is that plenty of plants, shrubs, trees what have you go to waste every year because they get unsold. Cheryl Richter has them packaged by sheltered workshops. Sheltered workshops offer employment and training to those who are physically, emotionally, or mentally disable so those who are disabled can continue being employed. So the money goes to them, the plants go to us and don’t get destroyed and everyone is happy. Yay.

“What has this got to do with me and my wedding?” you asked.

from here

from here

I know. Pretty nifty idea, eh? It can be favors and centerpieces all in one. Just call up some green-thumby friends to do your dirty work (literally) for you if you have a brown thumb like me. If you are hosting an Asian wedding though you might want to write “Only Take ONE” in big letters somewhere. I know my people. They will try and walk away with everything since they are free and all. How do you think I got to be the Shoestring Bride? My cheapest was inherited! 😉 Too bad you can’t carry a potted plant down the aisle though. Or can you…?

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2010 2:43 pm

    Awesomeness!

  2. June 5, 2010 7:34 am

    Jesselyn, I would totally carry a potted plant down the aisle if I could! My mom for the longest time has been anti-cut flowers because she thinks it’s a waste of a living thing.

Leave a Reply

