Skip to content

Vintage China & Not The Country

May 11, 2010
tags:
by

That joke was not really funny but that is really the best I can come with, really.

I think if you have a semi small wedding: ie: – 100 people or less (I know people’s idea of small wedding tends to change depending on the person), vintage china used at the wedding would be lovely. It adds a little sumthin’-sumthin’ and it’s green! As in good for the environment. Not like color (man, I am just full of it today!).

Side story: When one of my best gal pals got engaged and we were talking about her wedding. “It’s just going to be a small wedding,” she tells me. “How many people are you planning on inviting to your wedding?” I asked. “Oh, not many. Just like 200 people.” It took everything in me to act nonchalent and say, “oh, ya, that sounds reasonable” when I really wanted to go, “Holy Cow Are You Freaking Kidding?”. I restrained myself because I am good like that

From here

from here

I here some of you sniggering, “Ah-ha-ha-ha, Jesselyn, you are funny. Shoestring Brides can’t afford that!”

Here are a couple things to do in case you want some awesome vintage tablescape (ooo… fancy designer talk):

  • Borrow, borrow, borrow. Ask your parent’s friends, ask your friends, ask your friends to ask their parents. Most people have some they inherited that are quite lovely and (wait for it… my favorite word) FREE
  • If you have a lot of crazy time and a long freaking engagement, you can stalk the flea markets and garage sales. If you are patient, you might spend less than $0.55 a plate. Even if you have to pay a little extra you can rent it out to other brides or sell it and recoup back your investment (*ahem* Dallas Fort Worth brides, you can contact me if you want this look at your wedding *shameless self advertising*)

What do you think of vintage china? Yes? No? Jesselyn, you are outta your mind?

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2010 3:29 am

    Ha, semi small is less than 100! Gosh, that it huge!!

    Love the idea of collecting/borrowing tea sets. There is something so pretty about them.

  2. bluebutterfly10 permalink
    May 13, 2010 2:50 pm

    I love it! I saw this look a while a bag and drooled a bit, but realized collecting 150 dish sets would be a serious task that I wouldn’t have the patience for.

  3. May 16, 2010 5:26 am

    Gorgeous! I love the pretty patterns.

    I would like to use mismatched collected china like this for my kitchen tea, a smaller number of people and only a tea trio needed so more manageable… although I am not sure whether I will have any say in the KT or not.

  4. ab1501 permalink
    June 29, 2010 1:55 pm

    I LOVE this idea! I’ve been searching endlessly online for places to rent vintage china. Why is it that there are a bazillion places to rent vintage china in the UK but absolutely none in the US… let alone in Texas?!

    • August 13, 2010 12:11 pm

      Hi All!

      Just to let you know, there really IS a place in the US to rent vintage china! Table Graces is relatively new, but rapidly growing. We are located in Rochester, NY. We will consider shipping. We rent vintage and vintage-inspired china, glassware, etc. – everything you need – for weddings, tea parties, bridal showers, baby showers, or any other occassion. Visit our web site and drop us a line!

      Cheryl B. Fox
      Table Graces
      vintagetablegraces.com

  5. March 28, 2012 2:08 pm

    interesting post. one important thing to remember: borrowing china from friends and family may not cost you $$$ but you will invest some time collecting, storing and then cleaning (and in some cases by hand) all of those dishes – not to mention sorting them out back to all your friends. The day after your wedding – being elbow deep in dirty dishes usually isn’t a bride’s idea of wedded bliss.

Leave a Reply

