Skip to content

From Blogger To Expert?

May 17, 2010

I am planning on debutting a wedding consulting business.

*gulp*

I cannot believe I just admitted that on international blogsphere. Holy cow. I am mostly embaressed that I admitted that. Like I somehow sold out. The only thing I can somehow relate it to is like stars who seem to wake up one day and go “Hmmm… I think I want to be a clothes designer today!”. As if wearing beautiful clothes somehow gives them the talent to create beautiful clothes. I hope that I don’t seem to be doing that. I do not want to give anyone the idea that I am somehow a wedding planning genius just because I just got married. I don’t think I am.

So why wedding planning? Well, actually, I am not doing wedding planning. I am hoping to open a business in wedding consulting. Consulting? Uh-huh. A eyebrow goes up. Because that is oh-so different from wedding planning. Well, you may be right. I coined the term in my head. Why is because I like helping people and I think I have pretty good taste (and a little bit of narcissism but that is just me). Oh, and I know people. And I am unemployed. And I need something to do before I go stark raving mad. Seriously, sometime I think I am there already. And I am unemployed. Did I already say that?

In the end, I just decided, “I am just going to do it!”. So I am throwing myself out into the foray *another big gulp* of very many wedding planners/consultants/experts etc and see what happens. A lot of times I have a kind-of-semi-great idea but before I even get my feet off the ground I pysche myself out with all the things I would need to do, and money I need to invest, and time I need to spend, and my annoying “I-can’t-do-it” bug bites me, I freak out and I drop it before I even get started. This time, I am going to say to heck with it, jump in head first and figure out the bumps along the way when I get to them. So let’s have it. I am a Dallas/Fort Worth wedding consultant wanna-be and the journey is just getting started. Who’s with me? 😀

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2010 6:15 am

    You are going to be fabulous, lady!! Your style is totally different than the other wedding planners’ out there, so you’ll get a completely unique clientele. Good luck! Can’t wait to hear more about your new business!

  2. May 17, 2010 7:08 am

    good for you! good luck!

  3. May 17, 2010 10:42 am

    Yeah do it! Can’t wait to hear more about it!

  4. May 18, 2010 12:19 am

    Wish you had done this before our wedding! I’m excited for you though. Best of luck x

  5. May 18, 2010 10:34 am

    Very exciting news, congrats and best of luck!!

  6. May 18, 2010 11:24 am

    Do it! Take a look at Ittybiz.com if you want some ideas about how to take yourself seriously as an independent business and how to market yourself. (I’m not a shill for them, but they were really helpful to me when I became a freelance editor a few years ago and needed some serious online support.) One of the best things you can do when starting your own business is to claim it! Coin your own words and don’t let the “I can’t do it”s f*ck you over. Good luck!

  7. May 18, 2010 9:43 pm

    you have always been my source for savvy info. Rock it, girl.

    p.s. ill totally write you a recommendation letter.

  8. May 18, 2010 9:43 pm

    Wait. hold up. Does that mean we aren’t going to get this for free on the blog anymore?

    • Jesselyn Girl permalink*
      May 18, 2010 11:34 pm

      Silly girl. Always. I would be nowhere without you guys!

  9. May 19, 2010 4:50 pm

    Good for you for feeling okay with your decision. I say, do what makes you feel good…as long as you are not being selfish or offending/affecting someone else that has a stake in your decision. My gown was about $1500 total and I loved it! I never would have thought to spend that much…my original budget was half that! But when I saw the dress, it was everything I wanted and so mom helped offset the cost so I could get it. I don’t feel like I need to defend the decision. Now my hubby, he feels it’s obscene to spend that much on a dress you only wear once, but on the day of, he loved it, too! 🙂

  10. May 19, 2010 5:02 pm

    Hey, I wanna see more photos of your wedding!

    and you’ll be great at this btw, you already are 😛

    Jas

  11. May 20, 2010 1:52 pm

    Fancy a trip across the pond my darling?!

  12. May 21, 2010 2:09 am

    if i hadn’t already gotten married i totally would hire you 🙂

    I didn’t realize you still had this blog going…silly me!

Leave a Reply

