Skip to content

Ambition: Am I Crazy?

May 20, 2010
tags:
by

When I finally made the decision to open up “The Shoestring Bride”, my imagination ran quite wild.

(Oh, did I tell you that was what I naming my wedding consultation business? That is the name of my newborn consultation company: “The Shoestring Bride”.)

Anyway, where was I? I think starting a business is something like wedding planning. There are a lot of fun aspects. In wedding planning, it’s the choosing of the wedding colors, your date, the theme, registering, picking out your flowers, tastings, etc. In business (this one anyway), there is picking out a business name that you hope you will not hate in a couple of years, in your wedding, you pick out a dress that you hope you will not look back in horror/amusement and think “Oh my gosh, what was I thinking?” while your daughter wonders the same thing. In business, you think about your logo design, your website design. And then, right in the middle of thinking of it all, it hits you “Crap, these things cost money!”.

I posted an ad on craigslist which went something like “Needed: Logo Design for Fledging Wedding Consulting Company”. And got a torrent of responses. Like a gajillion responses. Yay. I slowly sift through the million and one emails. Some of them were “I can do you”. Um, are you sure you are replying to the right ad, home boy? Some of them were sassy “Hey, logo genius here!” which I admit I really liked his balls. (Cory, that does not mean, I wanted his balls. Big difference). Some of them were crap. Others were kind of good. That was the problem though. You really do get what you pay for.

 In the middle of this hullaboo, I wondered what the crap am I thinking? I can’t pay $250 for a logo. I can barely pay my electricity bill on time this month. I don’t even have one bride. Why do I need a logo? So I scrapped all the plans for a fancy logo and a fancy blogger header and just ordered some business cards. $53 for a set of 100 pieces. Could I have gotten some cheaper ones for less at like VistaPrint? Probably. So why didn’t I do it? I got a couple of reasons.

  1. I am a huge small business owner advocate. Remember, I tried to have a small business friendly wedding.
  2. Paper & Ink’s designs are prettier. I could give you a bunch of bullshit like weddings being such an asthetics driven industry. First impressions are really important. Yah, yah, yah. But I think I am just vain.
  3. I think I am crazy.

Opening a business makes you have mood swings like the craziest bitch you know. One minute you are going “Yeah, I have my own business! I am my own boss! I am the shit!”. Another minute you go, “What the hell am I thinking? What makes me think I can plan any wedding? I can barely plan my life! OMG I am so crazy”.

*sigh* Stop thinking. More doing, right?

So far I think I have three potential brides. I am meeting a bride tomorrow. I wish I had my fancy calling card to give out. 😦 Wish me luck ladies.

 

Calling card from Paper and Ink

14 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2010 10:11 pm

    go GO girl! how exciting for you.

  2. Dinah permalink
    May 21, 2010 12:06 am

    After planning your own wedding it’s hard to let go of all the nice wedding stuff so this business idea is definately ace! Have fun I am sure u’ll be great. You are creative and passionate isn’t that how great ideas and businesses are born? Hugs

  3. May 21, 2010 6:35 am

    You have three potential brides already? That’s huge! Good luck!

  4. May 21, 2010 8:16 am

    Good luck! I hope it goes well for you.

  5. May 21, 2010 11:24 am

    Ha! When I started my photo business I printed off business cards from my printer. Super embarrassing when I passed those babies out at a workshop and everyone had their fancy business cards!

    Lucky me, I won some letterpress cards from postal press.
    http://www.postalpress.com/products/silhouette-business-cards-custom

    Honestly, they are pretty affordable for lettepress!

    Can’t wait for our shoot!

  6. May 21, 2010 2:31 pm

    Sending luck and well wishes your way!

  7. May 21, 2010 2:37 pm

    Full color business cards are a great idea. Photo of the bride & groom on the front with contact info on the back. $59/1000. i have had several brides that send them in thank you cards. I’ve also supplied a lot of full color business card magnets.

  8. May 23, 2010 11:54 am

    You go! I wish you all the luck. And already 3 potential clients. What a wonderful way to start off.

  9. bluebutterfly10 permalink
    May 24, 2010 2:33 pm

    I think you are going to do great….your posts have always had such insight and you really know how to save the pennies for those needy brides…I can’t wait to see your business develop!!!

  10. Jesselyn Girl permalink*
    May 24, 2010 10:31 pm

    Yeah, I had a friend email me after this came out and was like ‘I got 1000 business cards for $12. Are you insane?” so apparently boo-boo number one! yikes
    Thanks for the support y’all!

  11. keshia permalink
    May 24, 2010 10:36 pm

    will you do those for back in Msia? 😀
    you know, if we fly you down and all 😉

  12. May 25, 2010 1:43 pm

    Seriously, you go girl!

  13. May 27, 2010 8:53 pm

    Are you going with that chandelier design? I think it looks great.

    • Jesselyn Girl permalink*
      May 28, 2010 4:31 am

      Yes ma’am I am. Thank you. It’s not customed or fancy but it will do!

Leave a Reply

