Skip to content

The Bride That Was Not To Be

May 27, 2010
tags:
by

Last week Friday, I had a meeting with a potential bride. Stupidly, I made the mistake of having the meeting at 10.00am. We were meeting at the Starbucks somewhere uptown next to the Pottery Barn. Talk about bourgeois. Mistake you say? Yes, mistake. I would have to wake up an hour and a half in order to get there early. As someone who is unemployed and enjoys her late nights and later mornings (wait, what mornings? I sleep through those), eight-thirty is pretty gross.

She is a petite little thing with blonde, blonde hair. Little kitten heels, a sundress, and a little shrug cardigan. Her engagement ring is an emerald cut stone on a channel set band. She wants a traditional white wedding which is honestly refreshing. Not that I do not love the sweet, shabby chic, creative weddings but a classic white wedding is always welcome. Not to mention easy! Here I thought it went over well. We discussed everything I thought we should discussed; I had a billion and one questions, she had a bajillion and one questions. Now I know, I am going to have a cheat sheet. Mistake number two.

Don’t get me wrong, we didn’t immediately become best friends. You know there are some vendors you think “we could hang out and that would be cool”, she was more like a “I know where you are coming from but you are kind of awkward”. I went home, sent her an email with a couple of invitations samples. Nothing. Maybe she is busy. I wanted to not stalk her. I tend to do that. I am applying to an internship right now and seriously, it has taken everything in me to not to call them every minute of every day. Note the following conversation I lifted from my GChat

3:20 PM me: Ok. So I applied to an internship at Southwest
  And they are suppose to get back to me by now
  I think
  So I am freaking out
3:21 PM And I am this close to call the recruiter again
  the third time.
  In one week
3:22 PM Tell me to stop being crazy
3:23 PM Heather: hahahah
  that’s how i am
  so, yes, calm down. it’s only wednesday
 me: URGH

Some people need a AA buddy, I need a “please don’t stalk people” buddy. Crazy town. I decided to wait till after the weekend. So I sent her another follow-up email Monday. No dice. She was the bride that was not to be. Sad day.

 

 

Picture is not directly related to the post but sure is funny!

Job Update: I got a call back for an interview. I am interviewing tomorrow afternoon. Good jujus, vibes, and prayers would be awesome. Thanks!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 8:50 pm

    That bridezilla photo is funny!

  2. bluebutterfly10 permalink
    May 29, 2010 4:42 pm

    love the photo and don’t worry about her not getting back to you!! You will rock and will definately find a client line that you will like.

  3. May 30, 2010 1:19 am

    I love the photo. Good luck on your interview. I am sure it will all go great for you.

Leave a Reply

