Skip to content

Why Are All The Good Ones Taken?

May 31, 2010
tags:
by

After much thought and pondering, I have decided that I need a “for-real” website. None of this wordpress stuff. Not that I am giving up my blogging mind you, I did that once and that was a silly thing to do. Once bitten, twice shy, three idiot. Or is that the saying? Who knows? However, brideonashoestring.wordpress.com is a mouthful to tell future clients where to go, ya know?

I got on godaddy.com. You know the one. Danica whats-her-face is representing them. Why exactly do they need a racecar driver who is kind of hot but not really to represent a domain and webhosting service is entirely beyond me. I suppose Steve Jobs is too busy and Bill Gates probably cost too much money. Anyway, do nerdy computer geeks want to jerk off to Steve or Billy boy? I think not.

Name, name, what is in a name? A lot. Seeing as that is what is going to be on your business cards and the equavalent of a interweb brick and mortar. Would you move your wedding consulting business into a taco stand? I wouldn’t either.

I tried all my top names and came up with not a taco in sight:

theshoestringbride [dot] com

shoestringbride [dot] com

shoestringevents [dot] com

I feel like gnashing my teeth at all the smart cookies out there who bought up these domain names because they have too much money and knew they could somehow thwart the small business(wo)men out there with a dream. Shoestring indeed. There are other shoestring domains out there to be had that’s true, but alas, they are all a mouthful and then some. When my sister was in the eight grade, she was told to share her favorite quote with the class so she stood up and recited one I told her in somewhat seriousness

“Men are like toilets: they are either engaged or full of shit”

Her teacher was not very pleased apparently though her classmates got a good laugh. I feel like that now. I got the man, the clean toilet, I just need a domain name gosh darn it.

Any ideas?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 12:55 am

    Hate when you’re domain name is taken. It’s the worst.

    I will try and come up with something. But I’m not very good at this either!

  2. Paul permalink
    June 1, 2010 8:40 am

    Jay makes websites

  3. Michelle permalink
    June 1, 2010 3:56 pm

    Yeah, everyone got a good laugh but I was one of the few that did not get a 100% on that project. She took off two points for the “shit” word.

  4. Michelle permalink
    June 1, 2010 3:57 pm

    And I don’t think you have a clean toilet.

  5. bluebutterfly10 permalink
    June 2, 2010 9:57 am

    So very frustrating for you!! I don’t know of any good suggestions at the moment but will let you know if I come up with something!

  6. Melodious permalink
    June 3, 2010 6:45 pm

    How about shoestringbride.biz?
    Or bridalshoestrings.com?

    Neither seems to be taken at the moment…

  7. June 4, 2010 9:34 am

    what about onashoestringevents.com ?

Leave a Reply

