Skip to content

When Good Couples Fight: Part Deux

June 14, 2010
tags:
by

Cory and I get into some play fights. This is the way we interact. Other people have long walks on the beach and foot massages on the couch watching TV, we punch, pinch, tickle, slap and tackle each other. All in the name of love of course. I am five feet one-something and Cory is six feet one-something which means, he is a whole foot taller than me. He is also almost, almost double my weight. Needless to say, our play fights occasionally end badly. For me.

There was the time he dislocated my finger on accident and when I screamed in pain he thought I was faking (there is nothing like making a guy back down like screaming “you are hurting me!” for the neighbours to hear). Until he realize that I wasn’t kidding since my little finger was kind of hanging out on my palm. There there was the time we were slapping each other and I turned my head and he split my bottom lip (okay, maybe it was just a little cut but there was blood!)

 In both instances he was very apologetic. When my lip was bleeding I manage to wrangle out a trip to the cheesecake factory for cheesecake and pina colada. In those situations, “Heck yes! Grovel, grovel, my Beloved. I feel like ice cream”. When we have actual arguments, I think nothing would piss me off more than the grovelling. If I yell at him about cleaning up, him cleaning up for the day or two after would irate me. Why? Because I know that after two days of “being good” so to speak and things would go right back to normal. Normal being Cory-slob. However, I don’t want him to be doing the “good boy” act because I know that is all it is: an act. However, I have been told that in this particular case of making up after a fight I am somewhat… different (my Beloved would like to interject here and say I am crazy).

How do we make-up after a fight? How do couples make sure there is no lingering sense of resentment or hurt feelings? We talk. And talk some more. We don’t usually go to bed or end the day without having talked outselves senseless and worked out all our issues. And we apologize if we are at fault. Apologizing if you have been a dumb ass I think is very important. Swallowing your pride and saying I am sorry goes a long way to heal hurts from carelessly flung words. Cory and I hug and go to bed holding hands. We cuddle and hold each other in bed. Sometimes after a long quiet lapse in arguing. When we have both exhausted ourselves out and come to realize that this is a very silly thing to be arguing about. The cuddling also acts as a silent “I am sorry we fought but I am better now”. Sometimes, abately very rarely, we make up in other… physical ways. There is nothing more unsexy than running nose and swollen eyes to get you in the mood for sex.

 

How do you and your beloved make up?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2010 7:01 am

    Cory is a saint. I would have pushed you down the stairs at least 10 times by now.

  2. June 15, 2010 10:34 am

    Bean is all for the snuggles.

  3. bluebutterfly10 permalink
    June 16, 2010 2:29 pm

    I love this post! FI and I play fight all the time and it often ends badly for me with bruised arms, etc, but when we really argue it’s typically over stupid little things and very silly miscommunications that we end up laughing at later…the best fight (haha best fight) I can remember was this one time when the Mr hadn’t done the dishes and I complained about it so he went to do the dishes and I thought he mumbled something under his breathe and threw a plate…in a mini rage I ran into the kitchen and threw a mug against the wall because I mean WTF why was he so pissed and throwing dishes…I was trying to make a point in how crazy it was to break a dish over a silly argument and was fuming..till I looked at him laughing at me because he had accidently dropped the plate and had not muttered anything under his breathe..he gave me a pat on the back and told me he was happy to know I would not take any crap and was surprised by my reaction because I am such a push over. It was a funny moment and we sometimes recall it to get a good laugh.

Leave a Reply

