Skip to content

Blue Wedding Dress

June 30, 2010

There is something about a wedding dress in a color other than white that makes people (ok, maybe just me) immediately think tacky. Don’t ask me why. I just do. I think it’s because I think a huge prommy ballgown in polyester taffetta. Don’t look at me like that, you know exactly what I mean! Everyone knows the white wedding dress started with Queen Victoria someone or other who stepped out in a white wedding dress. I have no idea what she was thinking because everyone knows white makes you look fat but wore white she did and women have been doing it ever since. Contrary to popular belief, however, I don’t think she wore white to symbolise her purity because actually in those days, blue was the color of purity and white was the color of wealth. So see, weddings have all about social class standings even in the good old days of of the 1800s.

I wonder if blue will ever be back in vogue anytime soon. I think it would be awesome. A completely white wedding and the bride in blue. I think it would make for quite a stunning wedding. Consider the following:

From Top to Bottom, Left to Right: Reem Acra 2010, Marchesa Spring/Summer 2010, Elie Saab Spring 2010 Couture, Alberta Feretti Fall 2010

From Left to Right: Carolina Herrera, Monique Lhullier,

 “But Jesselyn, this isn’t Shoestring Bride material!”

This might be true. Though don’t think because the name is Marchesa and you see movie stars trapsed down the runway in them does not make them unattainable. Take a look at these blue dresses “off-the-rack”. It’s price is comparible to a DB’s Galina dresses. Hah. Take that.

Catherine Malandrino

Marchesa

 

 

Would you ever wear a blue dress?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 1:27 am

    i think it’s fine if people do, but it just wouldn’t feel right to me.

  2. July 1, 2010 6:12 am

    I would love to wear a blue dress. The one at the bottom is perfect, bright blue.

    Unfortunately, my other half does not agree. He desperately wants me to look vaguely bridey. And that means no blue.

  3. July 1, 2010 9:06 am

    I always wanted to wear a periwinkle blue wedding dress, I didn’t and i’m not upset about it. 🙂 I want my oldest to marry so I can wear that catherine maladrino dress. gorgeous!

  4. Jesselyn Girl permalink*
    July 1, 2010 9:14 am

    claire – I wanted to wear something other than white too. Or at the very least short and sassy but Cory was having none of that!

    Jasper – I love the Malandrino dress too. Love the lady though in picture I just want to rub her nose in some dirt she looks so snooty. But she is always elegant and impeccably turned out.

  5. July 14, 2010 5:37 pm

    Not sure how I missed this post, but I am wearing a blue dress for my wedding next year. It’s not a princess style with a poofy skirt, which saves it from being too prom-like.

    But I’m all for a return to colorful dresses for weddings. There aren’t many people who can pull off white. I’m certainly not one of them.

  6. November 15, 2010 3:38 pm

    I wore a blue dress for my wedding in the Caribbean and I loved it and didn’t think it tacky at all. See my photos here: http://www.usviphotographer.com/p29977890 and judge for yourself. Personally I hate white and as a plus size bride I wanted something more personal and flattering. My favorite color is blue 🙂

Leave a Reply

