Skip to content

Golden Window Of Opportunity

July 6, 2010
by

I am shamelessly stealing this from Anna because it provoked thinking on my part. Which Cory would like to point out doesn’t take very much because apparently I think too much.

I have a Golden Opportunity Window rule. That is three months. In three months I can tell if a man and I are meant to be. Cory will also tell you I tried to break up with him in three months because I am a freak like that and I believe that all my relationships should be over in three months. In all honesty though, I have had plenty of boyfriends that I have been absolutely infactuated, head-over-heels in love with that like clockwork, the moment that 3-month dateline came along, my feelings for him went ka-put. Almost overnight in fact. One minute I am thinking he is Adonis come again and the next I am thinking, I cannot believe he walks like a duck that is so aggravating. What did I ever see in him?

For the longest time, I thought that there was something honestly wrong with me. My biggest fear for all my relationships was never that he would stop loving me but that I would stop loving him. Yes, I am this full of myself all the time. I never got that butterflies-in-my-stomach feeling to last past 3 months. 3 months come and go and only three relationships lasted. The first, was a guy in high school that ended in the fifth month because I foolishly though my 3-month expiration date was something I made up in my head. Not that it isn’t something I made up in my head but that 5th month came along and I swore if I had to see him bounce on his toes again while talking, I was going to have to shoot somebody. It ended. The second one really doesn’t count because it was within my 3-month time frame just that he was the one to break up with me. What can I say? No one ever break up with me. It just doesn’t happen. So seeing as we never hit that 3-month mark together without me ending it, this one could have been the one that got away. However, using the benefit of hindsight as my knowledge of him as an ex- and as a friend, I can honestly concluded we would have ended anyway. The third one, as you might have guessed is Cory. I literally had an anxiety attack and attempted to break it off. I was still crazy about him but the pressure of the knowledge that I loved him and this might be *gasp* The One. Please note the capital O which means this is serious folks – really made me skewy. He didn’t let me go. For which I will always love him for.

I have a friend who has a two-year window of opportunity. For no other reason than at two years, the relationship always goes South. Always. I had another “friend” told me that seeing as I didn’t get Cory down the aisle in a year then something is obviously wrong with our relationship. I said nothing. For once, the girl with the quick comeback for everything had absolutely nothing. I thought of plenty after I left but at the time, “you stupid b*tch” didn’t seem like a good idea. Does anyone else have a “Golden Window of Opportunity”? Not anything to do with getting him down the aisle but rather in such-and-such amount of time, if I don’t know then he gets voted off the island so to speak.

 

 

P/s – I think I may have found the birthday present Cory got me and I think it is a Kindle. I. Want. To. Open. It. So. Bad. But I won’t because what if no one else remembers my birthday and I don’t get anything else to open?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2010 1:00 am

    I always knew after 3 dates…

    happy birthday btw!

  2. July 6, 2010 2:56 am

    I knew I liked Bean very quickly, I knew I loved him quickly too. However as I was so young (18) I had no idea whether I wanted marriage but I was happy to see where life took me.

  3. July 6, 2010 3:18 am

    I had 3 long-ish relationships before Paddy, and they all had rough patches around the 1 year and 3 month mark. Strange. But that was never when we broke up.

    I never seriously wanted to marry any of them though. The last one before Paddy, I wanted to marry in a “someday” kind of way, but I don’t think that counts really.

    Paddy says he “knew” about me straight away, but I held back on him because I had intended to be single for a while. Luckily he was persistent 🙂

  4. July 6, 2010 8:51 am

    Ooh, don’t open the gift yet! I am the type that always wants to make sure I have something to open on my birthday. 🙂 (Which is, incidentally, this week!)

  5. July 15, 2010 2:54 pm

    I don’t have any specific Window of Opportunity, but I do reach a Point of No Return, and once I’m done, I’m D-O-N-E done and can’t get out the door fast enough.

Leave a Reply

